Peach Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This recipe fills approximately 24-26 4oz Ball jam jars. Used this recipe to make 4oz jam jars as the guest favor at my wedding. Remove RIPE peach skin with the following process: Make a small X at the base of the peach with a paring knife. Dip in boiling water for about 30 seconds to a minute. Dunk hot peaches into a bowl of ice water. Slip off the skins, but be careful now, the naked peaches are slippery. Once all measured peaches are back in the pot along with the sugar, the chunks need to be smashed up according to the consistency of jam you prefer. This is easily done with a potato masher. I put a round white sticker on top of the jar lid after sterilizing the jars in a water bath (used my All American Canner, a marvelous canning accessory!) and wrote each guests' name on it. That doubled my guest favor as a place marker for the seating arrangement. My wedding guests loved the gift, got fantastic reviews. One guest used it as an ice cream topping. Others just spread it on toast. I made several batches and they varied in consistency, not sure if this was due to not keeping the jam in the hot pot long enough to thicken more or if the ripeness of the peaches (or rather, lack of) influenced the overall result. The only "complaint" I got was that (and mostly only the men said this), "It's too sweet." Otherwise, very good, simple recipe, will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by subcultlady

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This is my first time making any sort of fruit spread, but certainly not my first time cooking. Thank goodness for that--my preserves were turning into nothing like the recipe or the video. They weren't very juicy, and even on low heat, they were trying to burn and caramelize at the bottom before they became liquid. I ended up with a mushy mess (like the consistency of slop) instead of a liquid. And it was a darker brown, which indicated caramelization. 12 peaches yielded 4 1/2 cups of "liquid" peach. 2 cups sugar sweetened it up plenty, and the final yield was 5 1/2-8 ounce jars. Much less than expected, but I'll forgive the recipe because it tasted ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. Just be mindful of your peaches as you cook--not all peaches will cook up exactly the same, and no two batches will be alike. Happy canning! EDIT: I made this same recipe and tried to do the exact same thing again. WAY too sweet, because the peaches actually were a bit overripe. How to save preserves that are too sweet? Lemon juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I didn't use as many peaches so I cut the recipe down to compensate for that. They didn't seem to set up in my jars as I expected so maybe I did something wrong. The only other complaint I had about it, was if you read this recipe, and I know you're supposed to use your head but the recipe never tells you to put the remainder of the peaches in the pan after you let it boil for one minute with pectin. So I went ahead and put them back in the pan and boiled them for one minute as instructed. It also doesn't tell you what jars use as probably it doesn't matter but I used 12 ounce jars instead of the 8 ounce ones. Maybe I'll have better luck next time. But anyway thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Awesome, simple and easy recipe - great for first time making preserves. I did skin my peaches because I prefer no skins. While boiling the peaches, I masked all of them with a potato masher. I also added 4 - 5 ounces of Amaretto to the batch. The almond flavor did not really come through, even with the amaretto added. Next time I will opt for almond extract. Added half the sugar and 2 ounces of pectin. Turned out perfect for me! Not runny, spreadable, flavorful jam. Simple enough for PBJs or adding to yogurts. Mmmm! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schnookster

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
We didn't change a thing on this recipe. Be sure to leave the peels on, as it's good for you health wise, and it adds a wonderful color to the preserves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Fantastic and easy to make. I did reduce the sugar by 3/4cup and added a dash of cinimon. easy looks great and tastes perfect. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This was a huge hit with my family, although I did make a few changes based on previous comments. I used 10 cups of chopped peaches instead of 12 peaches, 2 1/2 cups of sugar instead of 4 1/2 cups, and a little over 2 ounces of pectin. I ended up with preserves that had a beautiful blush color with a nice consistency that was sweet but not to sweet. I will definitely make again with he exact same changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Well, this was a joy to make - no peeling! Luckily my peaches were free-stone, so the whole process was easy. I haven't tasted it yet, but am very happy with the results so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This was my first attempt at making peach preserves. The Palisade Peaches are wonderful this year and so I finally worked up the courage to try it. This recipe is fabulous. I love peach and apricot preserves but nothing prepared me for how wonderful these would be. I really appreciated all of the comments because they helped keep me from making mistakes. I did use some other resources on canning because although this is a great recipe, it didn't include detailed instructions for canning. Nonetheless, I am hooked. I ended up with 8 cups of cooked peaches, so I modified the recipe accordingly. I used bulk pectin so I just measured out an extra 2/3 oz. It made 10 8-oz jars. I did add just a little lemon juice. My oh my. I just made toast for lunch so I could eat some. Thank you all so much. Love this community!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I have made this a bunch of times, and it always comes out fabulously! I after the first batch, though, I took another poster's advice, and reduced the sugar. Some years I add some nutmeg and a cinnamon stick while it's cooking down. This year, I put in a splash of bourbon and a vanilla bean. Yummm! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Peach Preserves

These fragrant, fruity preserves are amazing on toast, biscuits, and pork chops.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States