Peach Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This is my first time making any sort of fruit spread, but certainly not my first time cooking. Thank goodness for that--my preserves were turning into nothing like the recipe or the video. They weren't very juicy, and even on low heat, they were trying to burn and caramelize at the bottom before they became liquid. I ended up with a mushy mess (like the consistency of slop) instead of a liquid. And it was a darker brown, which indicated caramelization. 12 peaches yielded 4 1/2 cups of "liquid" peach. 2 cups sugar sweetened it up plenty, and the final yield was 5 1/2-8 ounce jars. Much less than expected, but I'll forgive the recipe because it tasted ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. Just be mindful of your peaches as you cook--not all peaches will cook up exactly the same, and no two batches will be alike. Happy canning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This was my first time for the recipe and I, like some of the others didn't use as many peaches so I cut the recipe down to compensate for that. They didn't seem to set up in my jars as I expected so maybe I did something wrong. The only other complaint I had about it, was if you read this recipe, and I know you're supposed to use your head but the recipe never tells you to put the remainder of the peaches in the pan after you let it boil for one minute with pectin. So I went ahead and put them back in the pan and boiled them for one minute as instructed. It also doesn't tell you what jars use as probably it doesn't matter but I used 12 ounce jars instead of the 8 ounce ones. Maybe I'll have better luck next time. But anyway thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Awesome, simple and easy recipe - great for first time making preserves. I did skin my peaches because I prefer no skins. While boiling the peaches, I masked all of them with a potato masher. I also added 4 - 5 ounces of Amaretto to the batch. The almond flavor did not really come through, even with the amaretto added. Next time I will opt for almond extract. Added half the sugar and 2 ounces of pectin. Turned out perfect for me! Not runny, spreadable, flavorful jam. Simple enough for PBJs or adding to yogurts. Mmmm! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schnookster

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
We didn't change a thing on this recipe. Be sure to leave the peels on, as it's good for you health wise, and it adds a wonderful color to the preserves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Fantastic and easy to make. I did reduce the sugar by 3/4cup and added a dash of cinimon. easy looks great and tastes perfect. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This was a huge hit with my family, although I did make a few changes based on previous comments. I used 10 cups of chopped peaches instead of 12 peaches, 2 1/2 cups of sugar instead of 4 1/2 cups, and a little over 2 ounces of pectin. I ended up with preserves that had a beautiful blush color with a nice consistency that was sweet but not to sweet. I will definitely make again with he exact same changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Well, this was a joy to make - no peeling! Luckily my peaches were free-stone, so the whole process was easy. I haven't tasted it yet, but am very happy with the results so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This was my first attempt at making peach preserves. The Palisade Peaches are wonderful this year and so I finally worked up the courage to try it. This recipe is fabulous. I love peach and apricot preserves but nothing prepared me for how wonderful these would be. I really appreciated all of the comments because they helped keep me from making mistakes. I did use some other resources on canning because although this is a great recipe, it didn't include detailed instructions for canning. Nonetheless, I am hooked. I ended up with 8 cups of cooked peaches, so I modified the recipe accordingly. I used bulk pectin so I just measured out an extra 2/3 oz. It made 10 8-oz jars. I did add just a little lemon juice. My oh my. I just made toast for lunch so I could eat some. Thank you all so much. Love this community!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I have made this a bunch of times, and it always comes out fabulously! I after the first batch, though, I took another poster's advice, and reduced the sugar. Some years I add some nutmeg and a cinnamon stick while it's cooking down. This year, I put in a splash of bourbon and a vanilla bean. Yummm! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Our first time canning peaches. The recipe worked great. We made 4 batches. The peaches were ripe and sweet so we used the following for each batch: 10 cups chopped peaches equaled 6 cups cooked (every time), 2 cups organic sugar, 1 pkg 1.75 oz. pectin. For spiced peaches we added 2 cinnamon sticks, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg and 1/4 tsp. cloves. Added the cin. sticks at the beginning of the 20 minute boil and added the nutmeg and cloves in the last five minutes of the boil. The spiced peach preserves are a spoonful of heaven - tastes like Christmas. We give this five stars all around - easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Peach Preserves

These fragrant, fruity preserves are amazing on toast, biscuits, and pork chops.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States