Peach Pie with Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
I don't have a food processor so I made the crust using the traditional method which was a little difficult. It didn't come together in a ball until I added a bit of water, then I could pull it into a ball with my hands. The taste of the crust is nice, almost like a shortbread, (must be due to the sour cream) even my husband commented that he liked it. I read all of the reviews before making this pie. The reviews nearly scared me off from even trying it. All I can say is, this has a custard-type base, it will be a bit jiggly in the oven, but it will set up as it cools. Not into a firm solid, but a soft, creamy filling (that holds it's shape) surrounded by peaches. Afterall, it is a peaches and cream pie! That being said, I did bake it for some additional minutes (maybe 20) to be sure it would set. The taste of the filling is great! I wasn't sure what to expect with the addition of sour cream, but it was soooooo good! My pie looks just like the featured picture. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
Wouldn't set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Gaston
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
I never post anything and I never make pies. This was easy and delicious. I used coconut oil and butter to grease the pie dish. I used 1/2 cup white and 1/2 cup brown sugar and added 1/2 tap of cinnamon. I had to use greek yogurt I didn't have any sour cream. I was so pleased how it turned out. I wonder how rhubarb would taste or blueberries??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
The crust of this pie was incredible. The filling had a great taste but something about the texture was off. It was soggy and wet. Maybe because I used vegan sour cream. But overall I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I loved this recipe- It is my favorite peach pie recipe. I followed the review by Susan and used more peaches. I did find it took longer to cook than indicated, and it still seemed runny when I took it out. However, it set up just fine and was absolutely delicious. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by plates4u
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
This recipe is EXCELLENT! My only suggestion would be to adjust the sugar content to the ripeness of your peaches. However, try the recipe as is first so you can later figure out how much sugar you may need the next time you make it again. The more ripe the peaches the less sugar you will need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
I had such high hopes for this pie. We followed the recipe exactly as written and, while the crust was fantastic, the filling needs work in our opinion. It was much too sweet for our taste. Also, the cooking time was pretty far off. We baked it an additional 25 minutes and, after cooling completely, it was still not fully set. We will make it again with a few adjustments. The star of this pie is the crust -- I'd give that five stars and the filling 2.5 as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I followed the recipe except I cut the sugar to 1/4 cup and added some cinnamon and nutmeg. Used firm peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
First of all, baking is definitely not my forte. Plain and simple, I can't bake from scratch. I have tried all kinds of recipes. No matter how simple they are, they never come out right. That is, until I found this recipe. I must confess, I used nectarines instead of peaches and I left the skin on. To let you know how good it was, my husband moaned and groaned when he took a bite and he HATES any kind of fruit pie. It was very simple to make and I really surprised myself at how well it turned out. I will have to make another one for tomorrow for our guests, since this one probably won't last the night thanks to my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Schulman Wiebelt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Veeeeeeeery yummy and super easy to prepare !! Texture of pie crust is fluffy and buttery :)I the filling is enough for me to make 2 * 6inch pie :-) the second one I use strawberry and Cranberry they are just perfect match !!!thank you so much for this sharing !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States