Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
A great pie. I used fresh, ripe peaches and made my own crust. I did not use the lemon juice. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and the pie was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This pie is the best! So simple to make. Everyone devoured it at work! I didn't use the egg and it turned out just fine. Also, I added a little bit of brown sugar, butter, and pecans to the top of the pie in the last 20 min or so. I probably baked a good 10 min more than suggested, but I guess that depends on your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Tastes great, easy recipe to follow. I used a homemade crust and the pie looked beautiful. I had to cook the pie 10 minutes longer than the recipe. My pie was a little runny, but I think that I should have drained my fresh peaches before mixing in the flour (some liquid left in the bottom of the bowl). Make sure you cool if for at least 2 hours before cutting. This will really ensure that the pie stays together. This will be my new standard summer recipe. You will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
I disagree with the other reviewers about the lemon juice. The lemon juice is necessary not only to prevent browing, but also to prevent the cell walls of the peaches from breaking down when cooking. The peaches will have much better identity and structure if you add the lemon or lime jiuce. I placed a colander in a work bowl and added the peaches. Then I poured lime juice over the peaches and gently tossed the fruit. This way, the excess lime juice fell to the bottom. I then tossed the drained peaches with the dry mixture in another bowl. The pie was perfect and the peaches were firm and not mushy. It also removed any juices that would have made the pie runny. The lime jiuce blends much better with the peach flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Yummy! I used fresh peaches from our local farm and it was wonderful. Everyone loved it and it was so easy to make. Not to mention, it was made with wholesome ingrediants unlike many of the other recipes on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This is the best peach pie recipe that I have ever used. My wife is a very critical person when it comes to peach pie, now this is her favorite recipe for peach pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This is the best peach pie recipe that I have found. It will be used again and again. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Kudos to the smart cook that suggested dousing the sliced peaches in lime juice in a colander to avoid runny pie. This pie was fantastic. I served it just warm with vanilla icecream and my husband's entire family was raving about it. Oh, and if you haven't used the buttery flaky pie crust recipe from this site, you are totally missing out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Holley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
AWESOME RECIPIE! Used 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 nutmeg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nokesville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Linden, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
This is the best peach pie I've ever made. My stepson devoured it, next time I'll make two so I can send one home with him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States