Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This pie is the best! So simple to make. Everyone devoured it at work! I didn't use the egg and it turned out just fine. Also, I added a little bit of brown sugar, butter, and pecans to the top of the pie in the last 20 min or so. I probably baked a good 10 min more than suggested, but I guess that depends on your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
This was a great tasting pie! I'll use this recipe again. I used a little bit more cinnamon than called for, but otherwise I followed the recipe. It's not a real sloppy pie and I like that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Tastes great, easy recipe to follow. I used a homemade crust and the pie looked beautiful. I had to cook the pie 10 minutes longer than the recipe. My pie was a little runny, but I think that I should have drained my fresh peaches before mixing in the flour (some liquid left in the bottom of the bowl). Make sure you cool if for at least 2 hours before cutting. This will really ensure that the pie stays together. This will be my new standard summer recipe. You will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
I love EASY peach pie recipes and this one definitely is- but leave out the majority of the lemon juice- peaches have so much great flavor and the lemon juice kills it. Otherwise it was easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
This is a good recipe, but I have to agree with other posts about omitting the lemon juice. It made it way too tangy. Next time I'll use some "fruit fresh" maybe (I am assuming the added lemon juice is to preserve color?) instead. Aside from that, makes a great pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
I disagree with the other reviewers about the lemon juice. The lemon juice is necessary not only to prevent browing, but also to prevent the cell walls of the peaches from breaking down when cooking. The peaches will have much better identity and structure if you add the lemon or lime jiuce. I placed a colander in a work bowl and added the peaches. Then I poured lime juice over the peaches and gently tossed the fruit. This way, the excess lime juice fell to the bottom. I then tossed the drained peaches with the dry mixture in another bowl. The pie was perfect and the peaches were firm and not mushy. It also removed any juices that would have made the pie runny. The lime jiuce blends much better with the peach flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
A great pie. I used fresh, ripe peaches and made my own crust. I did not use the lemon juice. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and the pie was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Yummy! I used fresh peaches from our local farm and it was wonderful. Everyone loved it and it was so easy to make. Not to mention, it was made with wholesome ingrediants unlike many of the other recipes on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This was the first time I made a peach pie and I thought this was the easiest and best recipe I could find. We loved it and I thought it was great! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This is the best peach pie recipe that I have ever used. My wife is a very critical person when it comes to peach pie, now this is her favorite recipe for peach pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States