Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I made this pie yesterday and the only change I made was I omitted the nutmeg since I am not a huge fan. The pie is spectacular, the only thing I might try next time is a slight reduction in the amount of cinnamon. The Vietnamese cinnamon I used did slightly overpower the taste of the peaches. I used the flaky butter crust recipe off this site with a small amount of cake flower instead of using just all-purpose (1 cup AP and 1/4 cup CF per crust). Also, I used some butter flavored shortening in place of 1/3 of the total butter. Crust and pie turned out amazing. I also followed some tips from the reviews here and baked it on the lowest rack in my oven. I moved it up and finished it the last 10 minutes on a higher rack to brown the top crust. It took a total of 10 minutes at 450 and 45 at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This was my first pie recipe and it worked wonderfully! The filling (besides the peaches) was on the runny side, but it was still delicious. Simple recipe for awesome food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jane vivianfu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This was delicious. I did decrease the white sugar to 1/2 cup and the flour to 1/4 cup. I added two Tbsp of corn starch and strained the peaches in a colander after adding the lemon juice. I also used a lattice top to my pie. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Absolutely wonderful and so easy. I used thawed, homefrozen peaches, but I made sure all of the juice from the peaches was drained off before putting in the crust. Came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Amazing filling!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Only use a pinch of lemon not as much as the recipe calls for so it tastes much sweeter. I do not use nutmeg either and I use two cans of peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Great recipe. Personally I thought the cinnamon and nutmeg was overpowering. But the recipe is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Made this twice. I never really loved peach pie but my parents gave me some peaches so I found this recipe. It was really easy and super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrusseleac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This recipe is awesome, loved it. Followed the exact recipe and came out perfect. I did do my own pastry which made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I was canning peaches and went ahead and made this up and froze it! For a dinner party, I put the frozen pie in a cold oven, turned over up to 425 degrees for 45 minutes, then down to 350 for 40 minutes. The pie was fantastic, brown and lucious. Barb Barger, Floyds Knobs, IN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States