Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
A tasty pie with a few alterations needed.I changed a few things. I used lime juice (only 1 Tbsp) and used a colander to drain them. I added a tsp vanilla and 1/4 tsp ginger. I omitted the nutmeg and put a tad more cinnamon. I used brown sugar instead of white. The pie was not runny and quite tasty. Might add a bit more vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I made this a couple of days ago and it is already gone and it is just my husband and I!! Absolutely delicious and sooo easy to make!! I am going to make another today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I have made this twice, great both times. I used fresh peaches,& my mom ALWAYS used lemon juice in her fresh pies. I use 1 Tbls. I don't use egg wash, instead I sprinkle sugar on the raw pie, did bake 8 additional mins. Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
My pie turned out pretty well, i followed the advice of other by allowing the peaches to drain ( i used frozen) and I also followed the suggestions of others by increasing the thickener, I used 1/2 starch and 1/2 flour as someone else suggested. In all I added an extra 3 tablespoons, I added so much because I added 4 tablespoons of rum. Also, once I filled the crust, i realized I needed more peaches and grabbed another 16 oz bag from the freezer (I thought) after they were thawed, I realized they were mango's not peaches, since they were thawed, I threw them in anyway. I was worried that baked mangos would be slimy and mushy, but I was wrong, it added an extra layer of peachlike flavor to the pie and made it even more yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I made this last night. Everyone in my family loved it and I will be making it again. It was easy to make and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
One more review. This is everything a old fashioned homemade peach pie should be. I made a huge 15 inch pie keeping the amount spices and sugar the same. So I can not say I followed the recipe exactly but everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Don't change a thing~ it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by Mitch4859
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I used about 6 cups of sliced peaches, and brushed the beaten egg on the top crust followed with sprinkled white sugar. Cooked it about 5-10 additional minutes. This was the very BEST Peach Pie I've made, and I've made many! Brushing the egg on the bottom crust was key information! This pie had no soggy crust! Yay!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I just made two (2) pies,using this recipe. I have tried a slice from one that just came out of the oven, and I have to admit it was a little too warm.....but excellent! I don't think you can taste the lemon juice at all, and I also didn't peel the peaches, and they came out nice and soft. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Yes. This recipe was wonderful. Let the peaches sit in the juice and then used a slotted spoon to place in pie. Added more peaches than recipe calls for too. Of course, we're using Jersey peaches and they're in season right now. We always add a tsp of cornstarch too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States