Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I didn't like the nutmeg in this recipe and found the consistency of the pie filling a bit too gummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmargaret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This recipe is perfect AS IS!!! Made two from my neighbor's peaches. They said theirs was the best peach pie they had ever tasted and my family agreed! Going to make two more right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I have a peach pie in the oven baking as I type this. This is the only recipe for peach pie I will use and I am an avid baker. I make my own crust. I agree that the lemon juice is a must in this recipe. It enhances the peach flavour in my opinion. I don't alter the recipe in any way. I think it's perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bayside, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I get raves every time I make this. I like to add a couple of handfuls of fresh blueberries to make it more interesting. (Don't use frozen, the pie will be too runny.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
To be honest, I've never made a good peach pie until trying this recipe...it was perfect! I did not change or add an ingrediant and the pie was firm but soft, with no extra juice making a mess in the pie pan. I, too, poured the lemon juice over the peaches, gently stirring while the juices drained out of the colander. I let it drainn while I prepared the flour mixture...worked great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Here's my variation and it came PERFECT. I used only 1 tbsp lemon juice. 1/8 tsp nutmeg and just a light dusting of cinnamon (otherwise it tastes too much like apple pie) and added 1 heaping tbsp of corn starch and added the butter and mixed well. Covered with plastic wrap and let sit room temp for 30 minutes. I brushed top with milk (not egg) and sprinkled with sugar. I also let it sit in oven (off) for 10-15 minutes. Use white sugar....I tried it with 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar....again too much like apple pie. and too much lemon juice makes it too tart. I've been searching for the perfect peach pie for my husband and this one is IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaxx926

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This was my first time making peach pie and me and my fiance loved it. It was his request and he said it was perfect. This was easy and I will make it again. Thank you. PS: I left the pie in the oven for 10 minutes with the oven shut off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
My wonderful mom died two years ago today. As I reminisced with my children, we talked about her best pie of the season...peach. I looked at the recipes here and found this one to be most like hers. Home-made crust, of course. She did not use egg on the top crust, however. She always brushed it with milk and sprinkled plain sugar over that creating a thin sweet glazed crust on top. I think I will make one now in her honor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha Swails

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Fantastic dessert! I made this just once and it is already my daughter's favorite pie. I did make the following changes based on other's reviews: Subbed lime juice for the lemon, 1/2 a/p flour and 1/2 corn starch, 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar and subbed ginger for the nutmeg and added some blueberries. Will definitely make this again and again ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Outstanding! Used ripe Texas peaches and squeezed one lime (instead of 2 tbs lemon juice) over peaches. Everything else was the same as printed. Will make again every year when the Texas peaches ripen in July/August! Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States