Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Good basic recipe. I blanched the peaches for a minute which made them way easy to peel. I also followed advice and poured lemon juice over peaches in a strainer. I also used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carina and Dave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
It is very simple to make and tastes very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I made this recipe last weekend. Absolutely fantastiic!!! Fresh peach season is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Excellent base recipe. After reading a lot of reviews, I did some tweaking. I made a 10" pie. Homemade 2 crusts. I used the 2 of lemon but did drain Peaches in colander. Next time, I will use maybe 1/4C more sugar, I could still taste the lemon too much. I used a good dash of cinnamon, 1/4t nutmeg, 1/2 vanilla extract (did not have almond extract) and I added a little freshly grated ginger to the filling. I did bake @ 450 for 10 min., and then 50 min. @ 350. Excellent pie, more sugar next time. My husband loved it & had another piece for breakfast this morning. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Cunningham Clotfelter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elma, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Wigen-Murphy
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Made this peach pie today and it was delicious! This is the first time I ever made peach pie and was so happy in the way it turned out! I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect! My kids at it all up and asked for seconds so couldn't have asked for anything better. Will definitely make this pie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
my first time making this pie,didnt put but half of the nutmeg and the lemon juice,sprinkled a little white sugar on top of crust with the butter,turned out beautiful and tasty,will remake,thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Celebrating summer with Georgia peaches! My local grocery has an enormous crop of wonderful Georgia peaches ready to go, and on sale to boot! I used the general recipe but made some changes after reading reviews. I ended up with about 8 cups of sliced peaches after preparing the peaches I had purchased. I squeezed about 2 T lemon juice over the fruit (to help hold their shape and color) but could not imagine ditching all the sublime juices using a strainer, as the juices are half the flavor! Instead, I used the 1/2 C of flour and added about 1 T of fine tapioca as well as approximately 1 T of cornstarch, knowing that this should thicken the juices and prevent peach soup! I did as reviewers suggested and used 1/4 c white sugar with 1/4 c brown, mixed. I also omitted the nutmeg but added a small splash of vanilla and a scoche of almond extract, too, to enhance the peach flavor. All in all it was a very tasty pie which no doubt would have been even better with a homemade crust! I also did leave the pie in the oven an additional 10 minutes after the oven was turned off, as suggested. After cooling the pie for maybe an hour or an hour and a half, I sliced and served a perfectly formed triangle of peach pie, not too soupy, not too dry! Topped with simple vanilla-bean ice cream it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddysgrl_1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MD062010
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Awesome Peach Pie! I made this for a summer party a few days ago... First attempt at a peach pie ever. Received many compliments and the pie was the only dessert completely gone. Some advice: I would change the lemon juice to a single table spoon. Quickly blanching the peaches for 45 seconds and then placing in an ice-water bath is amazing for removing the peach skin. I did use a refrigerated Pillsbury pie crust. I recommend using a lattice crust -this really helped with allowing enough moister from the filling to evaporate as to create the perfect pie which was not runny in the least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MD062010

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This was my first peach pie. After reading reviews I was really concerned about it being runny. However, I followed recipe with very few changes and turned out great. I put peaches in colander and used lime juice instead of lemon. I dumped peaches into pie crust then mixed dry ingredients and poured it on top of peaches without mixing. Brushed bottom and top crust with egg wash. Followed baking instructions exactly. When the pie was finished I pulled it out and set it on top of stove for about three hours (while we took off to swimming pool). When we came home I cut a small silver and it was perfect! The pie had set up nicely, and because I didn't mix up the dry ingredients it left a semi-crunchy topping just under the crust. Very yummy and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Hands down the best peach pie I've ever had. My boyfriend agreed! So quick and easy! There's a couple elements that you HAVE TO keep in mind in order for this to come out as amazing as it did for me. First, make sure you have ripe peaches that are in season. Second, find a flaky homemade pie crust recipe. PLEASE make your own pie crust and make a lattice design if you have time. I think that's essential for baking a pie more evenly. The pie crust I use is "Butter Flaky Pie Crust" here on Allrecipes. I didn't have to change a thing and it wasn't runny for me or too tangy. A lot of other users added more ingredients, but I don't feel that it needed any. If I have delicious ripe peaches I don't want to hide/mask their flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Sweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States