Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I really like this filling. I used this when I made a peach blueberry pie and it turned out great. But you have to use a real pie crust. Here is a super easy crust recipe my grandma used for years: http://allrecipes.com/PersonalRecipe/62401444/Grandmas-easy-flakey-pie-crust/Detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I useds this repice i had to doulbe it thou and i used vinaill extract intested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by solin1212

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Not a baker, but this pie turned out fabulous!Followed recipe exactly as is. Used a pizza cutter for upper crust - came out just like the picture!Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookins3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This is definitely the best ever peach pie recipe!! I made a mistake when preparing it and accidentally added ground clove instead of ground nutmeg and to my surprise IT IS AWESOME!! It would be really good around the holidays... If you love peach pie try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This was the best peach pie I have ever made. So very easy! As it cools it firms up. We ate it warm with ice cream and it was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by collegekid12
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
wow! great pie! It didn't even need the extra butter. I tried to avoid the "soupy" problem by allowing my sliced peaches to chill while drenched in lemon juice. I rinsed the juices off in a pasta strainer before adding the dry stuff. I might add a little more flour next time, but otherwise I (and my coworkers) thought this pie was just sweet enough and just tart enough AND it didn't taste too "floury" to me like some other reviewers have commented on. I used fresh peaches (5 or 6 I found to yield 5 cups of sliced peaches) and cut out the nutmeg because nutmeg always tastes too Holiday-ish. I used "Mom's Pie Crust". And I forgot to put the eggwash down before the peach mixture, but I didn't have a soupy problem. Everyone at work said the "goup" was the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by collegekid12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This recipe turned out great and the taste and crust was delicious. The best pie Ive made. My husband loved it. He even took a picture of it, it looked and taste great. I used 1/4 cup of flour and 1/4 cup of tapioca instead of 1/2 flour. Great... Never had a pie turn out so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I give this 4 stars. Don't get me wrong it's a good recipe, but I work at a bakery and we pretty much use the same recipe. I would suggest adding 2Tbsp of cornstarch and use only 1/4 tsp of cinnamon. When it says to brush with egg, only use the egg whites not the yolk. We don't brush the bottom crust, we just poor filling directly in add top shell, brush W/egg wash and sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar mix. Bake as 45 min on bottom rack at 350, if top crust is not brown and golden, bake until it is. After finished baking,take out of oven, let it COMPLETELY cool, cover and Let stand at room temp over night. cut the next day. you will have perfect beautiful slices and it will taste awesome too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Pretty good pie. Instead of brushing the bottom crust with egg and still have it be soggy, the trick is to bake your pies on the lowest rack of the oven preferably on a pizza stone. Bake it at 425* for 15 to 20 minutes then reduce the heat to 350* and bake 30 to 40 minutes longer. If the top crust isn't browning as much as you like, bring the pie up to the middle rack and finish the last 10 minutes using a crust ring to keep from over browning the outer edges. Works every time no more soggy bottoms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Great recipe with a couple of modifications. I'm not proud - I used a frozen pie crust. I brushed the bottom crust w/the egg, covered the edge of the crust w/foil & baked it @ 350 for 12 minutes & filled it when cool. Mixed the sugar/flour/cinn/ nutmeg/salt with the peaches & let the liquid settle out while the bottom crust was baking & cooling then just took the peaches off the top & left the excess liquid in the bowl. Baked the pie 10 min @ 400 & 40 min @ 350 with the pie sitting on an insulated cookie sheet to keep the bottom crust from overbooking. It sliced into perfect wedges after coolingnfor 20 minutes! Also agree that brushing the top crust w/melted butter & dusting it with sugar is an excellent idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States