Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
loved the tip on mixing lemon juice in a collendar to loose exess juice. Also used 1/2 white sugar, 1/2 brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I am a diabetic so I made a few changes. I used 1/2 cup Splenda Sugar Blend instead of sugar and used 1/2 cup white and 1/2 cup whole wheat flour. I used the pre-made crust from the dairy isle, but next time I will look at the health food store for a healthier version. The pie was quite delicious and even the non-diabetics raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Wow! This was really good! Used homegrown peaches a friend gave us & wasn't expecting anything special, just wanted to get rid of the peaches. First peach pie I have ever made & it was great. Followed the directions & also followed advice of another reviewer to use a collander and sprinkle the peaches w/ lemon or lime juice. I used lemon but will try lime next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Don't follow the egg-happy instructions. Followed them to a tee and the crust burned in less than 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I usually like to make recipes without changes the first try in order to give a fair review. I found the pie did not have much "glaze", making the peaches seem very dense. The flavor was okay, but could have been a bit sweeter for my taste. This is a decent recipe, and I do like the double crust, but just wished there would have been a bit more glaze to balance out the denisty of the crust and peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntingburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
OMG, this is the best pie I have EVER tasted!!! I did two slight modifications: I used half white sugar and half light brown sugar, and I backed off a bit on the nutmeg. I also poured the peaches into a colander and gently shook it after coating the peaches with lemon juice, to get the extra liquid off. It was PERFECT and worth the hassle of slicing 8 large peaches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I added about 2 cups of apples to about 3 cups of peaches and used my favorite homemade crust recipe. After reading comments, I squeezed fresh lime juice over the peaches (in a colander). I made my pie in the evening and let it stand until after dinner the next day. The consistency was perfect. My boys (dad, husband and son) all loved it. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing. I'll be sure to use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Have tried many recipes for peach pie and anyone I make this for cannot stop eating and raving about it!!! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I made the following modifications with fantastic results: I made my own pastry, made a lattice top, and used Splenda instead of sugar. It was perfect! The lemon juice is needed, so don't be tempted to skip it based on other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I read all of the reviews prior to baking and used a few suggestions..1/4 cup flour, 1/4 cup corn startch..used lime juice in collander instead of lemon, left out nutmeg and doubled cinnamon. When I ate while warm, it tasted too tangy, but when I had a slice after it completely cooled, the tang was much less noticeable. This pie was NOT runny at all! I spooned in my mixture with a slotted spoon instead of poured in the pan. Maybe that helped prevent runniness? I think this is a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BirminghamBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States