Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This was excellent! I did make a few changes - per other people's suggestions - so this rating is for the pie with those modifications. I made my own crust, but I think you will be alright with the store bought kind. MODIFICATIONS: 1. Used half the amount of flour and substituted with corn starch, 2. Used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup light brown sugar, 3. Omitted the spices (my husband does not like them), 4. I used some egg wash on the bottom of my pie crust before filling it so prevent it from getting mushy, and it worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Good recipe! As did others, I adjusted it to my family's tastes. I omitted the nutmeg, and next time I will use less cinnamon, which seemed to overpower the taste of the peaches. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arctic200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I have never eaten a piece of peach pie in my life. I have no idea where I have been but this is the best pie I have ever eaten. The only thing I did differently was use a homemade crust. My grandson has a little cafe and I do the baking. This pie is one of the favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I made this pie for a family gathering because peach is my husband's favorite. He liked it but loved it after it had sat in the fridge for a couple of days. Now I make the filling the day before and let it sit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Fast and delicious. What a pie should be. Good job Bernierone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Easy and straight forward, and gooooood!!! Used more of my peaches from my tree that build up in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dinsdancer
Living In: Newbury Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Wonderful filling recipe! I made the crust from scratch instead of using store-bought, so I didn't brush with an egg. Also, since some reviewers said it was a little tart with the lemon juice, I juiced half a fresh lemon over the peaches rather than using bottled stuff. I didn't put butter on top either - the homemade crust has plenty of butter. It turned out delicious. The kidlet says it's "heaven on a plate" and the SO declares it the best pie he's ever eaten. I agree with both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Great recipe. Just the right amount of spice. Brushing the crust with egg really made a difference in keeping the crust from getting soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Excellent recipe. Used half brn. and half white sugar. I did not use lemon juice because I sliced peaches in to water that had fruit fresh in it. I also left out the nutmeg. Wonderful pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STILLCRAZY53

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Great recipe! Though I also agree the lemon juice way overpowered the peach flavor. So I'm going to try cutting it in half. Other than that really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States