Peach Kuchen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Very good basic recipe, no one wants to eat the exact dish every time. I made the first recipe exactly as stated, but when it was placed in the pan, I didn't think there was enough. So I made a second batch, this time using almond, instead of vanilla. I placed one batch right on top of the other. When I found it a bit dry to work with, I added peach juice, or dripped my spatula into the juice to spread. In the end, the cake was a bit thick for the fruit. The next time I made it, I double the recipe, and placed it in an inch larger pan and it worked just great. 1/2 vanilla and 1/2 almond extract is a good alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
awesome!! make sure if you use frozen peaches to completely defrost then pat excess juice off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swolfe_2
Photo by princesskrystal4
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
So simple and tasty! I preferred this warm and thought the crust could have been a tad sweeter, but other than that it was terrific. I sprinkled brown sugar on top and added a little nutmeg (just because I enjoy those flavours). I had no trouble spreading the dough in the pan, but I used margarine instead of butter so that might have made a difference. Thanks for this, Sher15!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesskrystal4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Perfect crust similar to a tender shortbread cookie. The recipe definitely needs to be doubled so take my advice and do not make the original one - double your ingredients and you'll be happier. Original recipe will not go up the sides of pan and if you can get it up there the bottom is paper thin. I doubled it and only spread it on the bottom and I also used butter instead of margarine. What a delicious bottom cake for just about any kind of fruit - I used canned peaches as it's winter now, but I'm looking forward to using it for the upcoming spring and summer fruits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
My husband found it dry. I didn't mind it but it is more something you would eat while sipping tea. Maybe it needed more peaches to give it the moisture it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly except substituted almond extract for vanilla. Didn't have a springform pan so put parchment paper in a square 9" pan. VERY difficult to spread, so didn't go up the sides just made them a bit higher than the rest and sliced peaches thin. Baked for 40 min. Absolutely delicious, almost cookie-like bottom with peaches on top, WOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I made this tonight for dessert. I HATE peaches, but I LOVED this. I'm already planning to make it for family get togethers, and I have some ideas about other variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Like putting hard peaches in egg custard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
A little dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
It's good, but the bottom of the kuchen is very very thin. I'd prefer a deep dish kuchen. Give it some doughy goodness. This ends up being a tad crunchy when it's done. I made mine with fresh apples (Macoun) instead of peaches. It worked out very well, 35 mins was a perfect cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Easy Peach Cobbler

Sweet, simple, peach dessert ready in under an hour.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States