Peach Kuchen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by dextersmom
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Wonderful. The recipe was easy and a great way to use the seasonal fruit we had this summer. I added blueberries and raspberries as well as a granola topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dextersmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
we did not like this recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Kuchen has been a treat in my family for years and this is the first I've tried my hand at making it. I'm a somewhat beginning baker at 22 but I really enjoy it. My aunt gave me her recipe but because I didn't have shortening or cream on hand I went with this one. The final product was very dry and really lacked flavor. My husband who loves the family kuchen didn't even finish his slice. The taste improves as you get to the crust but I was surprised at the blandness. The only change I made was adding 1/4 tsp of rum extract after the vanilla. Seems to me there should have been more flavor. Our family recipe is a little different, adding in a filling with the peaches comprised largely of eggs, cream, and sugar. I would suggest adding a little more sugar to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamaria88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I cannot believe this received ANY good ratings! I was searching for my German mom's recipe and this seemed the closest so I was very eager to undertake it this morning & enjoy it later this evening after dinner. What a WASTE of not only ingredients, but my TIME! The batter was TOO STICKY to spread with my fingers(???) so I used a spatula; then there wasn't nearly enough batter! I know for a fact I followed this to a "T", so it wasn't an error. My mom baked the cake first in a type of fluted tart pan with a raised bottom; when she turned it out, she spread drained canned peaches pinwheel style on the top while still a bit warm. The juices soak right in! Then she would spread some type of sweet glaze over the top... while the cake portion was NOT "sweet" (which I prefer), the yummy jell-like topping was, and it was the most delicious cake I ever had. I wish my mom were still around so I could ask her, but in the meantime, I'm still trying to find her recipe! Think I might try this batter again, but double it... then add peaches on top afterward as I described. This also took 45 minutes to cook at 350, and it still isn't evenly cooked. Sad about losing this morning too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoeknowsbest

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
very pretty dessert. It was also very delicious! It took a lot longer to cook than listed, I added at least 30 minutes to the cooking time. It really never looked "golden brown" to me, so it was difficult to tell when it was done. I didn't read many reviews- I'm not sure if anyone else had a hard time spreading the dough into the pan with their hands?! What a mess. I tried, but ended up using a spatula- and it took me quite a while. This recipe is not something in my opinion that is easy to bake- but definitely something you should bake! It's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Making for the second time today - only with fresh sour cherries - I saw a few people say the didn't like that it wasn't sweet but I grew up in a german household and that is something that is typical and that I really like about european desserts as opposed to north american ones. Its more about individual flavours (almonds or hazelnuts or cherries) then just sweetness. I grew up eating kuchen mit cafe - cake and coffee - every afternoon - usually plum not peach. This would have been served with a fresh dollop of whipped cream and if sour plums or cherries sprinkled with enough sugar to cut the sour. Perfect afternoon or breakfast dish. I did dbl the recipe and use butter not margarine because thats just more authentic - and low cal ha ha ha :) - and have done in both spring form and just glass baking dish - lots of greasing the pan for that one. enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
If you're looking for a rich, but lightly sweet, fruity confection, this'll do nicely. I made the following changes: used a 10" springform pan and doubled the cake part; substituted butter for the margarine (I have a little Paula Deen in me); used 3 1/2 large fresh peaches; increased the sugar-cinnamon topping to 4 1/2 tbs sugar: 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon; lengthened bake time to about 50 minutes. Beware! The result is less like cake than buttery shortbread, but it is nonetheless tasty and it pairs well with the fruit. Some tips: serve with some fresh whipped cream for added moisture; leave the skins on the peach slices for a pretty, rustic look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Excellent! Made this for a work meeting, and it went over great. Followed the instructions completely, but used fresh peaches since this is the perfect season for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This turned out really pretty but I didn't think it was very good. Not sweet enough, kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I also found that it wasn't enough dough to fill a 9 in springform pan....it came out really really flat. It's too bad because I was hoping to take it to a pot luck tonight which won't be happening. I'll try to double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

Chef John’s Peach Blackberry Flognarde

A fruity baked dessert with a funny name and a secret savory surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States