Peach Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I made this as written and it was easy and delicious. Fortunately, peaches are in season, so I taste tested 3 different types of peaches at the grocery...Locally grown (Texas), yellow (Georgia) and Donut Peaches. I have to admit, I was very leery of the odd-looking Donut peaches, but they were the sweetest of the bunch. Being closer to white, I did add in about 20% of the locally grown, yellow peaches to give my ice cream a more "peachy color". I used 15 peaches total and mashed them in the Vitamix...keeping it slightly chunky. The result couldn't have been much better...very fresh and easy. Not sure I can say much more, but if you are a peach ice cream fan, give this one a shot. I'll continue to use this recipe until I find one I like better - not because I don't think it's a great recipe, but like I suspect most of you are, I am always looking to find "the best" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary_o

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This recipe was way too sweet as others said. I suggest you cut sugar in half and then add more sugar as desired in between tastings, mixing well after each addition. I cut the recipe in half, but next time I will probably cut to 14 servings to fit my icecream maker. Cut calories by using, all half and half, instead of part heavy cream if desired. Had a good peach taste though. I'm giving this recipe 3 stars because I will use it in the future but only with changes. I like to leave a few larger pieces of fruit instead of all pureed for texture...just big enough to tell it's a tiny piece of peach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Fabulous! I used Madagascar Vanilla Bean Paste for the vanilla, added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp nutmeg to give it a peach cobbler ice cream taste. It would have been great without the spices...just wanted a different taste today. This will be my new homemade peach ice cream go-to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alley
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I had very juicy peaches. I was worried the ice cream would come out runny, but it didn't. Followed the recipe exactly. It was a bit too sweet, but heck, it's ice cream - we enjoyed it! NOTE: Homemade icecream is always very soft right after making it. Even 2-3 hours isn't enough to firm it up. Best if it is stored in an air-tight container overnight for best (more firm) results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Awesome! My first try at homemade ice cream and this was the perfect recipe. Better than I ever remember from childhood. Smooth and rich. My fresh peaches weren't that ripe or sweet so I cooked them in half of the sugar first and then puréed. I did put the ice cream in the freezer to firm it up but the taste was fabulous either way. I recommend you follow the recipe exactly because it works! I did not cook the eggs and no problem at all. I only made this because my husband had fond memories of making ice cream as a child. I never liked the home made ice cream, always watery or just not that good, but this totally changed my mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This was my very first ice cream making experience. I cut the recipe in half because I was unsure if it would turn out well. Instead of fresh peaches (my local grocery store had peaches the size of plums & they didn't look too great) I used frozen peaches which I defrosted and then pureed. I also added 1/2 a tsp. of cinnamon to add a little flavor to it. I love peach recipes but it always seems like it’s too bland. I agree with other reviews about it being too much sugar, so next time I'll probably use a little less. Overall I love the outcome with my creation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This recipe is unbelievable. I used small white flesh peaches from Fredericksburg (which took an hour to peel). I peeled them and cut them over a bowl, to catch the juices. When I halved the recipe (to make 1 batch in a normal ice cream machine), I needed just over 2 cups of the peach/juice mixture to get the right peach flavor. As others have suggested, I did use slightly less sugar. The other thing I did differently was temper the eggs to kill off any potential bacteria (since I have a one year old and am pregnant). Fresh farm eggs wold be safe, but I don't trust the ones from the grocery store. To do this, I mixed all of the ingredients EXCEPT the peaches in a sauce pan on the stove top and cooked JUST until the mixture reached 170f. Doing this (cooking, cooling, and peeling tiny peaches) took a really long time, but it was SO worth it. I don't know what peach recipe I used last time, but it was nothing compared to this. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Great ice cream. Don't hesitate to make it. I added 2 more peaches for better flavor. It's really creamy so have small servings. Great summer treat!!! I made 8 servings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
We loved this ice cream! A bag of nectarines got too soft to enjoy fresh so I went looking something to do with them & found this recipe. It tastes a lot like a local hand crafted ice cream-mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twinmadre99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States