Peach Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This is THE BEST ICE CREAM THAT I HAVE EVER EATEN. Peroid. I did reverse the half and half and cream. I used 2 cups of heavy cream and four cups of half and half. I also cut the sugar to 3 cups instead of 3 1/2. It was perfect. The peach flavor was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I took a tip from another reviewer and subbed almond extract. I added some freshly ground nutmeg and saved some peach slices to add to the mixture at the very end so that there were some chunks to give it more texture. So good! A big hit among everyone that I gave containers to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Loved by everyone that tried it. It was "the best homemade icecream I've ever had" was a very common phrase. And it doesn't turn to rock in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This was so easy to make and came out tasting absolutely amazing! I had hundreds of peaches from my peach tree that I didn't know what to do with. This was an easy way to use some of them. It's creamy and rich. Maybe it was a little too sweet, but I'm not complaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I halved the recipe and used whole milk in place of half & half. I also heated the milk for a couple minutes in the microwave and then added it to the eggs & sugar with the idea of cooking the eggs just a bit. I added the remaining ingredients and refrigerated them a couple of hours before churning. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAYLA207

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
The consistency of this ice cream is DREAMY!! It was so easy to make. I served over crushed ginger snaps soaked in Canton ginger liqueur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I have used this recipe for both fresh peaches and fresh strawberries. My only complaint is that it gets a little icy, even after churning. Maybe that comes from too much liquid in the recipe? I have halved the recipe both times, as my ice cream canister does not hold that much liquid. Leaving it to chill overnight has been a great third step to the simple first two. I have also made the some changes to reduce fat and calories, but the taste still remains awesome. For my halved recipe, I use: 3 eggs, 1.5 cups white sugar, 2.25-2.5 cups of fresh fruit, 1 cup heavy cream, 1.5 cups half and half, .5 cup skim milk, 1 tsp vanilla extract and .25 tsp salt. After I puree the fruits and mix the other ingredients in a seperate bowl, I pour all into the blender to get a great concoction before pouring into the canister. GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This recipe works great for coffee ice cream! just substitute (8) shots of Starbucks espresso and 8oz of Starbucks Coffee in place of the peaches (24 servings). I have made it several times with great reviews. I have also used used fresh or frozen strawberries instead of the peaches and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Excellent. I cut the recipe in half so it would fit into my Cuisinart Ice Cream maker. Still had some left-over, so I let the kids make "ice cream in a bag" (put the ice cream mixture in a ziploc, and then put that inside a ziploc with ice/salt mixture...shake). I liked that I didn't have to make a custard on the stove... so this was so much easier. I think next time I'll use 1-1/2 cups of sugar vs. 1-3/4 cups (half recipe), as it was a little too sweet. Delicious nonetheless! Perfect summertime treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I used only half of the cream called for (b/c that's all I had on hand) and it still came out fabulously! I did add some chunky pieces of peach to the puree just for personal preference. Very sweet and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cochran, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States