Peach Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
My first attempt at making homemade ice cream was a delicious success with this recipe! I added some peach nectar to the peaches in the blender. That was my only change and my family just loved it. Perfect for a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I will usually only make vanilla homemade ice cream because I really don't want to be disappointed with something added, but this ice cream was so yummy! I cut everything in half and there was still too much for my cuisinart counter-top ice cream maker. So we'll have more tonigt! Will not disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCANDLAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
WOW! This was great. This was my first Ice Cream try. It turned out PERFECT. I used fresh eggs from my chickens. The ice cream never got too hard like I've read about. It was smooth, creamy and full of flavor. For my second try, I used a custard type recipe for blackberries. The custard curdled and the whole thing was ruined. I'm returning to this recipe and substituting berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
My first suggestion on this recipe is to half the serving amount. Most home ice cream makers make 2 quarts ....... half of this recipe makes a little over 2 quarts. The flavor is really quite subtle and very nice. Vanilla varies in it's strength and mine is from Mexico and strong ... be careful that it doesn't overpower the peaches. I suggest using 6 peaches for half the recipe and be certain to skin them - even though that isn't mentioned. Good recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Amazing. I combined this recipe with a peach gelato recipe for two reasons: I wanted a more intense peach taste (I had awesome peaches) and being pregnant I couldn't do the egg part raw. My ice cream turned out AMAZING and intensely peachy. Here are my alterations: (1) I did not puree the peaches, I just peeled and chopped and let them sit out a few hours, occasionally mashing with potato masher, this kept some of the texture (2) I only used 2 cups of heavy cream, and I used 2 cups of whole milk instead of cream. (3) I used 4 egg yolks and an egg white (the gelato recipe called for only yolks), and only 1 cup sugar (the gelato recipe called for 1/2 cup sugar). I stirred these together and gradually added the cream/milk mixture, which I had heated, whisking all the while. I then transferred the egg/cream/milk back to the saucepan and heated until almost boiling, definitely steaming. I put that back to room temp before adding the peaches and remaining ingredients, this hopefully killed the bacteria. Amazing recipe. I think the quality of the peach is key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa.murakami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This stuff is terrific! I've never made ice cream before, and after reading all the comments on the homemade ice cream article, I made some changes that fit our budget and our Cuisinart ice cream maker better, and it turned out great! I had it recalculate for 11 servings (to round out the eggs), used 1 cup sugar, 4 peaches, 2 cups heavy cream and no half&half. I only puréed half the peaches and added the unpuréed ones in the last few minutes. I also beat the eggs pretty well and then beat them quite a bit more when I added the sugar to get it kind of frothy. It came out very rich and smooth and the leftovers froze up perfectly, no super-hard ice cream here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I have not used this recipe myself. I just wanted to say that my recipe is the similar. I substitute EggBeaters for the raw eggs when feeding the young and elderly. Works perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: South Mountain, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This is an excellent recipe due to the richness and creamy texture! One thing for readers to know, there are pasteurized eggs in the shell that you can buy. They are not stocked in every store, so you have to look for a store that carries them. But they are great to have because then you don't have to worry about eating raw eggs! I get them when I want to bake for my grandkids so that they can eat the batter! Also great for ice cream that is not cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I'm fairly experienced at making ice cream so when I read over the recipe it seemed like there was an awful lot of sugar for the amount of cream and half-and-half. I gave it the benefit of the doubt, however, assuming the peaches must require that extra sugar. But I still reduced it somewhat anyway. Rather than peaches I used mango, kiwi (fruits I had on hand) and a smidge of coconut extract and was really looking forward to this! I mixed it up, added the cream and half-and-half, gave it a taste and was SO disappointed to find it still too sweet for my taste. I had no choice but to add more cream, which I knew wasn't going to hurt the ice cream, but would indeed affect (weaken) the flavor. Thank goodness I tasted this before I churned it so that I could try to fix it! While this ended up being rich, creamy and delicious since I had to dilute the mix with extra cream, it was hardly "peachy."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Would have been better if my peaches were a little more ripe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States