Peach Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Awesome! My first try at homemade ice cream and this was the perfect recipe. Better than I ever remember from childhood. Smooth and rich. My fresh peaches weren't that ripe or sweet so I cooked them in half of the sugar first and then puréed. I did put the ice cream in the freezer to firm it up but the taste was fabulous either way. I recommend you follow the recipe exactly because it works! I did not cook the eggs and no problem at all. I only made this because my husband had fond memories of making ice cream as a child. I never liked the home made ice cream, always watery or just not that good, but this totally changed my mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This was my very first ice cream making experience. I cut the recipe in half because I was unsure if it would turn out well. Instead of fresh peaches (my local grocery store had peaches the size of plums & they didn't look too great) I used frozen peaches which I defrosted and then pureed. I also added 1/2 a tsp. of cinnamon to add a little flavor to it. I love peach recipes but it always seems like it’s too bland. I agree with other reviews about it being too much sugar, so next time I'll probably use a little less. Overall I love the outcome with my creation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This recipe is unbelievable. I used small white flesh peaches from Fredericksburg (which took an hour to peel). I peeled them and cut them over a bowl, to catch the juices. When I halved the recipe (to make 1 batch in a normal ice cream machine), I needed just over 2 cups of the peach/juice mixture to get the right peach flavor. As others have suggested, I did use slightly less sugar. The other thing I did differently was temper the eggs to kill off any potential bacteria (since I have a one year old and am pregnant). Fresh farm eggs wold be safe, but I don't trust the ones from the grocery store. To do this, I mixed all of the ingredients EXCEPT the peaches in a sauce pan on the stove top and cooked JUST until the mixture reached 170f. Doing this (cooking, cooling, and peeling tiny peaches) took a really long time, but it was SO worth it. I don't know what peach recipe I used last time, but it was nothing compared to this. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Great ice cream. Don't hesitate to make it. I added 2 more peaches for better flavor. It's really creamy so have small servings. Great summer treat!!! I made 8 servings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
We loved this ice cream! A bag of nectarines got too soft to enjoy fresh so I went looking something to do with them & found this recipe. It tastes a lot like a local hand crafted ice cream-mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twinmadre99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Almost too sweet. My guess is you will have to reduce your sugar based on how sweet your peaches are. I'm giving it a 3 because it wasn't bad but it wasn't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Really wonderful! Made it with incredible fresh peaches and I'm sure that helped but it was really creamy and delicious. Will try to remember to chill the mixture thoroughly before putting it in the freezer next time to help speed the time. Will most certainly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Wonderful! I used fresh Red Haven peaches...delicious. I couldn't get the peel off of the peaches, so just left them on...didn't make a bit of a difference. No need to peel them. I left about half in small chunks...would probably puree more. Overall, a wonderful, creamy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This ice cream was wonderful and so simple. We made it while down at the beach, it was so perfect and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States