Peach Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
The eggs in this are not cooked into a custard and 6 eggs is a lot. I could taste the raw egg with every single bite. My children ate it, but I did not. It had that gooey texture of raw egg and the flavour of raw egg. This filled a 1 litre container and six eggs is a lot, so no wonder I could taste it. I like it when the eggs are cooked into a custard a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
So easy and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMILAM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Great recipe! Very easy to make and will definitely make again when peaches are in season. I would recommend letting the mixture sit for a few hours or even overnight before churning in the ice cream maker to get more flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Great recipe. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This was great. We made no changes to this recepie except for cutting it in half. My whole family loved it. This is the first homemade ice cream I have ever made and my family DEMANDS I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I have made this recipe twice already. Both turned out great, way better than the ice cream in the store. Here is the measurement that I used for a 2-quart ice cream maker: 3 eggs, 1 3/4 cup sugar, 2.5 to 2.45 cups pureed peaches (2.45 cups will give more fresh fruit favor but 2.5 would do ), 2 cup heavry cream, 1 cup half /half cream ( the 2nd time I used 2% fat milk, it still tasted good but less creamy ), 1 teaspoon vanallia extract, 1/4 teaspoon salt,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Just a delicious recipe. As others suggested, I set the yield to 11, which was just right for the Donvier Ice Cream maker. I left the peaches in small chunks (didn't puree them), substituted 2 % milk for the half and half, and blend (10 % butter fat) for the whipping cream, and substituted almond extract for the vanilla. Just a great flavour. Easy to make. Thanks Chris.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I cut the recipie in half and it turned out well. It needed more peach flavor and as one of the reviewers said to ripen the peaches in a paper bag. I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
This was one of the best ice creams I have ever had, better then haggan daaz! It took minimal effort and the awards were to die for (well almost) I have a cuisanart 2 qt. ice cream maker and did as a user suggested to minimize the recipe to 11 servings. This did perfect, in fact I might have even been able to do 12 but no more. I followed the directions to the tee for the exception of adding one fresh vanilla bean (split and scraped) and added freshly ground nutmeg (about 1/2 tsp I would say). My peaches were very ripe being they are taken from our tree in the backyard. But to make a more intense flavor I peel the peaches on top of my food processor bowl to catch the juices and simply sliced in half and took the pit out. I then pulsed my peaches so that it was slightly pureed with some chuncks in it. I added this mixture to the egg and sugar mixture I whipped in my Kitchen Aid. I added the rest of the ingredients and blended on low until well incorporated. After that, I poured into my ice cream maker and set the timer for 25 minutes. I then scooped it out into a freezer safe container to freeze to the consistency of ice cream. Thank you so much for sharing. A definite keeper to hand down to my children and their grandchildren.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Ducky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Excellent as-is. Better when you substitute 3 TBS of half&half with 3 TBS peach schnapps. If you do add almond extract (as one reviewer did) add two or 3 drops of it, no more. This is a delicate dish. The peach is there, but almost elusive. If it isn't enough punch, you can add diced frozen peaches after the ice cream freezes. "Cooks Illustrated" recommended the Krups ice cream maker that I have. But it only allows for 1 quart of ice cream, and I didn't realize this. Ice cream expands, so I wasted a ton of product (could have put it in ice cube trays and frozen it, though). It froze perfectly. My ice cream maker paddle makes a back-and-forth motion when the ice cream is done, so there's no guesswork. My ice cream maker took 1/2 to freeze (probably longer than usual because of the Schnapps). Perfect texture, taste and sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAEDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States