Peach Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I have used this recipe for both fresh peaches and fresh strawberries. My only complaint is that it gets a little icy, even after churning. Maybe that comes from too much liquid in the recipe? I have halved the recipe both times, as my ice cream canister does not hold that much liquid. Leaving it to chill overnight has been a great third step to the simple first two. I have also made the some changes to reduce fat and calories, but the taste still remains awesome. For my halved recipe, I use: 3 eggs, 1.5 cups white sugar, 2.25-2.5 cups of fresh fruit, 1 cup heavy cream, 1.5 cups half and half, .5 cup skim milk, 1 tsp vanilla extract and .25 tsp salt. After I puree the fruits and mix the other ingredients in a seperate bowl, I pour all into the blender to get a great concoction before pouring into the canister. GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This recipe works great for coffee ice cream! just substitute (8) shots of Starbucks espresso and 8oz of Starbucks Coffee in place of the peaches (24 servings). I have made it several times with great reviews. I have also used used fresh or frozen strawberries instead of the peaches and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Excellent. I cut the recipe in half so it would fit into my Cuisinart Ice Cream maker. Still had some left-over, so I let the kids make "ice cream in a bag" (put the ice cream mixture in a ziploc, and then put that inside a ziploc with ice/salt mixture...shake). I liked that I didn't have to make a custard on the stove... so this was so much easier. I think next time I'll use 1-1/2 cups of sugar vs. 1-3/4 cups (half recipe), as it was a little too sweet. Delicious nonetheless! Perfect summertime treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I used only half of the cream called for (b/c that's all I had on hand) and it still came out fabulously! I did add some chunky pieces of peach to the puree just for personal preference. Very sweet and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cochran, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
What a great tasting recipe! I cut the recipe in half and made with 2 cups of whipping cream and 1 cup of 1% milk (what I had on hand) and it came out peachy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Very disappointing! We made this for my husband's work party and began freezing it 3 hours before we were to arrive. It NEVER froze!!! We continued freezing it an hour after we got there...still NEVER froze! We sadly served peach milkshakes instead. Most were very un-appetized by the idea and didn't try them. We don't know what went wrong....we followed directions perfectly...very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This recipe is awesome! We substituted strawberries because we already had them at hand. One problem was that it was difficult to puree the fruit, but threw some of the half-and-half in there to help the blender do its job. We made white chocolate fudge to put on top. We call it our "Strawberry Cloud" dessert now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
this made alot & was alot of work. It was good ~ not sure if I will make it again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This is the best peach Ice Cream EVER!!! I made it last year after the Knott's Island Peach festival left me with too many peaches to eat. I needed to find the recipe so that I can try it with Strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Made a half batch of this as the whole batch would have overflowed our ice cream freezer. VERY good. It is possible to just heat the mixture to 170 degrees to cook the eggs and then cool in fridge before making ice cream. This is helpful for those who don't have 'homegrown' eggs. Also a pastureized egg substitute will work as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States