Peach Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I'm fairly experienced at making ice cream so when I read over the recipe it seemed like there was an awful lot of sugar for the amount of cream and half-and-half. I gave it the benefit of the doubt, however, assuming the peaches must require that extra sugar. But I still reduced it somewhat anyway. Rather than peaches I used mango, kiwi (fruits I had on hand) and a smidge of coconut extract and was really looking forward to this! I mixed it up, added the cream and half-and-half, gave it a taste and was SO disappointed to find it still too sweet for my taste. I had no choice but to add more cream, which I knew wasn't going to hurt the ice cream, but would indeed affect (weaken) the flavor. Thank goodness I tasted this before I churned it so that I could try to fix it! While this ended up being rich, creamy and delicious since I had to dilute the mix with extra cream, it was hardly "peachy."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Would have been better if my peaches were a little more ripe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Awesome rich flavor and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
We loved this recipe. We used 2 small boxes of instant vanilla pudding to replace the raw eggs. Got rave reviews and requests to share the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
One big problem with this recipe is that it measures peaches in units rather than in cups or ounces of prepared fruit. Depending on the size of the peach, this can make a huge difference in the outcome. Also, since sweetness of peaches varies tremendously, my suggestion is that you taste the product before and perhaps during freezing, to add sugar accordingly if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I made this while my pregnant wife and young kids were out of town. I had two days to eat all of it before they got home..... no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sour Lake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Awesome peachy flavor, this was easily the best peach ice cream i've ever made/had. I used half cream half milk so and was still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
We have made a similar recipe to this for years and years. It is without a doubt the best ice cream recipe there is. If you can't find fresh peaches buy the package of frozen peaches, thaw them out and puree them before adding to the ice cream - you'll never be able to tell the difference. Substitue strawberries, or any other fresh or frozen fruit - you will never use another recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Thompsons Station, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I was disappointed in this recipe. I could tell that it was too sweet for us as written (and as many of the 5-star reviews will also tell you), so I did cut back the sugar by a cup. The flavor is great after that change, but I also found the texture unfortunate. I wouldn't try this no-cook method again for a creamy ice cream. I'm in the process of melting this and re-churning it to see if I can get a better texture. Otherwise, it's really only good for shakes (which won't kill us). Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I cut this recipe in half and it still made too much for my icecream maker, so I made the 2nd batch the next day. Not complaining, it was delish! I did cook the milk and eggs as I think it makes it creamier. I will make this again, such a good way to eat fresh peaches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBI EMILEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States