Peach Custard Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Although the pie turned our having a good flavor, the sugar mixture on top of the pie never did anything. I expected it to soak into the filling and turn into a sugary topping. It just sat there and turned a powdery brown. The pie was no where done in 30 minutes, so I took it out and tried to mush the topping into the filling, but that didn't work. I made with peaches and only needed 3 peaches, sliced. Even with fewer peaches, the deep dish pie shell was over filled with the liquid. Pie was done after a total of 50 minutes and the flavor was nice. Made with peaches, but any fruit would do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I have never had peach custard pie before, just thought it looked interesting since I love peaches. I was not a fan. It turned out just like it should have though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I used frozen pie shells which cooked up fine. But, I found that there was too much liquid using the 1.5 cups of evaporated milk. Also, I cut the peaches into slices, otherwise I made it as per recipe with a touch of salt as someone noted. My peaches are really ripe and juicy! The end result is very tasty~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I found using halfed peaches made for uneven custard to peach ratio. Some bites were all peach, some all custard. Also, the exposed peach bits dried out and the spinkled topping did not absorb into them making for an odd texture. If I were to make it again I'd cut the peaches much smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan Barnard
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I made the peach pieces a little smaller, rather than halving. Also, this took 50 minutes to cook, not 30 for me. Great recipe. Enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barnard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I sliced the peaches and didn't peel them, it worked fine. I would say add some salt to bring out the peach sweetness. Very easy recipe, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smart cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
We liked this pie, and the fact that it wasn't too bad fat- and calorie-wise for a slice of pie. Sweetness was just right. Used another reviewer's suggestion of brushing the unbaked pie shell with egg - baked crust was perfect, not soggy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I changed this into Peach/apple custard pies! and they were great! 1. I made a double recipe of Crisco shortening pastry but didn't have quite enough Crisco to make up the required 2 cups so used about 1/4 to 1/3 cup (combined) of Becel Margarine and butter to make up the difference. So in total 2 cups 'fat' blended with 4 cups all-purpose flour. Whisk together, 2 eggs, 4 Tbsp cold water, 2 Tbsp white vinegar, 1 1/2 tsp salt and add to flour mixture. This was to yield 2 9" pie shells and 2 lids. I divided the dough into 4 balls for refridgeration and found that only 2 balls rolled out enough pastry for 3 pie shells (bottoms). The dough was a little sticky but once you add flour to your board for rolling, the texture was just right and you didn't have to be stingy with the flour thinking that it would make the dough too tough. I refridgerated this overnight but an hour is fine just to chill the dough. 2. I sliced up 5 or 6 small ripe peaches (moon shaped)as well as 1 large 'Pink Lady' apple and 1 smaller 'Ida Red' apple (cut into small pcs. about the size of my thumb nail and as thick as three nickels. I placed them in a container with approx. 4 oz orange/tangerine juice to keep them from discolouring with a tight fitting lid and could toss them to cover all the fruit. 3. Being as I was intending to make two pies initially, I also doubled the custard ingredients. I blended 2 cans (each 375 ml) Carnation Evaporated milk with 2 eggs, 1 1/3 cup white sugar, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I did not peel the peaches and sliced them instead of halving them. Everyone loved this pie and requested more. I am making two today, since the first one went so quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
About peeling peaches, I also do this for potatoes, put them in a pot of boiling water for a few minutes. Take out and place in cold water. The peels will come right off in your hands by just rubbing them a little. This only works with well ripened peaches. (Which is what your going to cook with anyway.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juleskaye518

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States