Peach Crisp III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Delicious!! However, do not sprinkle the cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice on top of the granola topping or else it will burn in the oven. Mix the spices in with the oat/granola mixture from the start and add a dash of vanilla extract and it will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Crisps are so easy and are a great fall treat. With this recipe I used no granola, only oats. I don't use quick oats either, which gives a more chewy substantial topping. I used peaches that I had cubed and frozen, and after thawing they were quite watery. I put them in a colander to drain most of the liquid, and then added about 1/8 cup of Minute tapioca to make sure remaining liquid would thicken up. It was delicious and easy. Perfect for busy families.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
This is a very nice blend of tartness and sweetness. the granola topping was awsome however the peaches came out just a bit tart. I loved it as did my fellow co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
This is a delicious crisp. I couldn't find loose granola so I bought Quaker Crunchy Granola Bars, (Oat, Nuts and Honey flavor) and I smashed a couple of them. It worked really well. Instead of flour I stirred 1 Tbls Minute Tapioca into the peaches and it thickened the juice very nicely. We served it with vanilla ice cream and caramel topping. FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMATECHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Really good recipe!!! It was a bit too sweet for me, so next time I'll use less sugar. I used 1 cup oats and no granola. Instead of fresh peaches, I used 1- 13 oz can of sliced peaches, drained except for about 3 tbsp of the juice. I only used 1/2 stick of butter and it still came out brown and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
This was tasty. I had a lot of peaches so I used my lasagna pan. I used 2 cups oats & granola, 1 cup brown sugar, no flour & 1/2 cup butter. Nice & brown with a good crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I thought the crisp was very good. I made a few changes in the order of the ingredients...I added the 1T of flour, the cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice and toasted pecans to the peaches...I used canned peaches as fresh were out of season. I cooked the mixture on low for about 20mins and then added to a 13 x 9 baking dish. I added more oats, granola, flour and sugar for the topping to cover. Baked in oven to brown. This was my dessert for Thanksgiving this year and it was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ellie may
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Oh boy, this was a winner. I had a zillion sweet peaches (59 cents a lb!). I did not use granola, just a cup of oats, went heavy on the cinnamon and added a TABLESPOON of Mexican Vanilla, dribbled over the peaches, not the topping...just cos I could. Now, yes, this dish was super juicy... but I am not one to complain about juicy or waste a single bit of sweet peach juice! BUT WAIT...THERE'S MORE! Had it hot over Breyers Vanilla Bean ice cream FOR BREAKFAST with espresso...how's that for decadent?! Hubby says he ain't ever tradin' me in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I've just made this crisp and my husband and i ate nearly half of it! it is very tasty and fairly harmless (of course if you eat all of it in one sitting like I am seem to be able to, then even all that fruit is not going to balance out the butter and the sugar, so enjoy it in moderation). here are a few modifications I've made: 1. I did not have enough peaches so I added about 8 plums (the oval blue ones). the plums added a bit of sourness to the sweetness of the peaches; they also changed texture a bit. I liked the combination so much that I am going to keep it even when I do have enough peaches. You might want to add a bit more sugar if you don't like the sourness of the plums. I used plums that I bought from the local orchards; they are superior to the store variety. I would not add fruit from the supermarket to this recipe. 2. I used organic nut/maple granola. I liked it because it had different nuts and seeds: sliced almonds, sunflower seeds, cashews... Aslo the maple flavor goes well with the rest. 3. I added walnuts instead of pecans and that worked just as fine. 4. my husband does not like cinnamon so I added a bit of freshly ground clove. I like the zest that it adds to the overall flavor. But do not add too much; it is very strong. I recommend this recipe to those who like making easy treats with the fruit in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
This was pretty good. I wanted a sweet dessert, so I added extra brown sugar to the peaches themselves and baked them for about 15 min before adding the topping. Also, thought a little more topping would have been nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States