Peach Crisp III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This is the best crisp I've made in recent memory. Actually crispy, with a nice blend of spices. I didn't follow the method quite as written, but I'm pretty sure as written it is also worth 5 stars. What I did: I used a full cup of granola in place of the granola, oats and pecans, since mine has nuts and is not as sweet as the boxed kind. I combined all of the flour, the sugar, butter and spices in the food processor until crumbly and then stirred a few big spoonfuls (1/2 cup?) into the peaches before pouring the peaches in the pan. I combined the remaining sugar mixture with one cup of granola and sprinkled it over the top. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELABIGAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadowview, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I grew up making apple crisp, but in the middle of peach season using this recipe seemed more appropriate. However, I did make some of the following changes: added a 1/2 can cherry pie filling, a dash of almond extract. Topping: oats and flour (instead of granola), mixed with the pecan pieces, a dash of fresh nutmeg and a handful of Hershey's cinnamon chips. No other spices needed. I wasn't sure if this would be a blend of to many flavors, but it came out great with or without the icecream topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Really good! I used nectarines instead of peaches because that was what I had in the kitchen (they were getting to be overripe) and doubled the topping. I didn't have granola so I doubled the oats and added 4.5 tbsp of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Found the amount of nutmeg required a bit overpowering. Will make again but will have to alter the spice recommendations. I also found it to be a bit runny the day after I guess its best to serve all of it the day you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Good, but I've had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leakey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Yum! I even forgot the brown sugar and it was good, haha. Just sprinkled some on top after it came out. And it turned some gritty peaches that weren't great by themselves into an awesome tasting dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Awesome! No changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Very yummy!! I picked this 'crisp' as I thought the addition of the granola was unique and something I hadn't tried before in this type of dessert. I didn't quite have enough fresh peaches left, so I threw in some fresh apple slices and a couple handfuls of fresh blueberries that needed to be used up! This turned out nicely...left out the pecans as a personal preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I didn't use nutmeg, sweetened granola, pecans or all spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Excellent base recipe. I did not have quite enough peaches so added some frozen mixed berries which turned out great. Also because I'm diabetic I used only 2 tablespoons of brown sugar in the toppping. I found this to be a perfect ratio. I had only almond and dark chocolate granola which also contains a mix of seeds and that too made an excellent crisp. I tried this with small scoop of vanilla ice cream and plain. Both were very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States