Peach Crisp III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Really good recipe!!! It was a bit too sweet for me, so next time I'll use less sugar. I used 1 cup oats and no granola. Instead of fresh peaches, I used 1- 13 oz can of sliced peaches, drained except for about 3 tbsp of the juice. I only used 1/2 stick of butter and it still came out brown and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Fantastic. Great way to use peaches in season, I just picked literally 13lbs. This had just the balance of sweetness to enhance the peach flavour, but not overpower it, so it was SuperPeachy, definetly a Plus. My only mods were using dark brown sugar, which gave it a rich flavour without any heaviness, and just eyeballing the nutmeg and cinammon on top, because I knew 1 or 1/2 of a tsp. would NOT be enough for my palate :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Everyone loved this and it was so easy! I used 3 large peaches unpeeled, Sweetened Pecan Granola from Trader Joes and Rolled Oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
Very delicious! I cut down this recipe to two servings and put it in ramekins instead of a baking dish. I also used a combination of white and regular fresh peaches (highly recommended!) and didn't use nutmeg (since I didn't have any). I also put pecans on top, but next time I will mix them in with the granola and oats b/c some got a bit burned. Oh, and I also used low-fat granola and smart balance margarine, although you couldn't tell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
This dessert is divine! My hubby and I had to stop overselves from eating the whole dish when it was still warm out of the oven. I used fresh peaches, and we loved it. We don't like foods overly sweet, so I also made the crisp using all long-cooking oats, no granola. I also cut down the brown sugar and used some artificial sweetener. We served it with redi-whip and it was plenty sweet. I used cashews instead of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
Delicious! This was exactly what I was looking for. The oatmeal/granola mixture makes it a bit less of a guilty pleasure, it almost seems healthy. I used fresh ripe peaches and they made all the difference in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I thought the crisp was very good. I made a few changes in the order of the ingredients...I added the 1T of flour, the cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice and toasted pecans to the peaches...I used canned peaches as fresh were out of season. I cooked the mixture on low for about 20mins and then added to a 13 x 9 baking dish. I added more oats, granola, flour and sugar for the topping to cover. Baked in oven to brown. This was my dessert for Thanksgiving this year and it was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Crisps are so easy and are a great fall treat. With this recipe I used no granola, only oats. I don't use quick oats either, which gives a more chewy substantial topping. I used peaches that I had cubed and frozen, and after thawing they were quite watery. I put them in a colander to drain most of the liquid, and then added about 1/8 cup of Minute tapioca to make sure remaining liquid would thicken up. It was delicious and easy. Perfect for busy families.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
This was tasty. I had a lot of peaches so I used my lasagna pan. I used 2 cups oats & granola, 1 cup brown sugar, no flour & 1/2 cup butter. Nice & brown with a good crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I've just made this crisp and my husband and i ate nearly half of it! it is very tasty and fairly harmless (of course if you eat all of it in one sitting like I am seem to be able to, then even all that fruit is not going to balance out the butter and the sugar, so enjoy it in moderation). here are a few modifications I've made: 1. I did not have enough peaches so I added about 8 plums (the oval blue ones). the plums added a bit of sourness to the sweetness of the peaches; they also changed texture a bit. I liked the combination so much that I am going to keep it even when I do have enough peaches. You might want to add a bit more sugar if you don't like the sourness of the plums. I used plums that I bought from the local orchards; they are superior to the store variety. I would not add fruit from the supermarket to this recipe. 2. I used organic nut/maple granola. I liked it because it had different nuts and seeds: sliced almonds, sunflower seeds, cashews... Aslo the maple flavor goes well with the rest. 3. I added walnuts instead of pecans and that worked just as fine. 4. my husband does not like cinnamon so I added a bit of freshly ground clove. I like the zest that it adds to the overall flavor. But do not add too much; it is very strong. I recommend this recipe to those who like making easy treats with the fruit in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States