Peach Coffee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Very yummy! I little heavier/denser than I was expecting. I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp each cloves, allspice and ginger to the batter. I substituted brown sugar for white sugar in the topping, and peach yogurt for the sour cream. I recommend doubling the topping... I will make this again, and will probably double the baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Hmm, even though I think my recipe flopped on me and turned into something gooey but it was still pretty good but 4 stars just cause it didn't really match what I thought it would have been
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Made recipe exactly as listed. I think next time instead of making a peach layer I will mix the peaches directly into the batter. I'm sorry to say it did not have a lot of flavor but add whip cream and/or ice cream and it was good. FYI: The recipe did not indicate that the finished product required refrigeration. As my husband was cutting a piece the next day he said "did you put blueberries in here too?" Nope - it was mold. You savvy bakers are probably laughing at that and couldn't imagine not knowing to refrigerate. Unfortunately, I didn't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
This was absolutely wonderful. I wouldn't change anything. My husband loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This recipe turned out excellent. I had very ripe peaches and nectarines, two of each, so I made half the recipe (except for the topping, I used the full recipe for that) and put it in an eight-inch square pan. The cake was tender and moist, the peach layer was perfect and the topping added crunchy texture and a more intense sweetness. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brown Deer, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsSpice
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This is really good. I needed to make something with my surplus of peaches and this seemed to be the best candidate. I've tried it with frozen and fresh peaches and I much prefer fresh, though frozen was good too. I didn't have pecans so I omit them and I double the streusel. Most recently, I used raspberries instead of peaches and sprinkled a little sugar on them when I put them in the batter. This was very good as well. Thanx for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This was good and I would make it again. the only reason it was rated 4 instead of 5 has nothing to do with the recipe. Instead of vanilla extract my helper put in almond extract and I don't like almonds. However next time I make this I will add a little brown sugar and cinnamon to the cake and not just for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
excellent I also added a hand full of fresh raspberries from the garden. It added some sour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I thought this recipe was very good. I made it for a Labor Day picnic and every raved about it. It was a little time consuming and hard to spread the batter but it was worth it. The only changes I made was to add some flour, cinnamon,sugar and nutmeg to the peaches for some added flavor. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This is a wonderful,moist cake that is not too sweet but tender & light. The fresh peaches between the layers provided just the right sweetness, & the streusal-like topping was perfect! This recipe is a "keeper" to be enjoyed & shared often whenever fresh peaches are in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States