Peach Coffee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Wonderful! I don't have sour cream so I used skim milk. It made a wonderful smooth silky batter. No trouble spreading it in the pan! And it baked up soft and fluffy. Tastes great. I also didn't peel the peaches. I never do for cobbler either. I will certainly make it again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
LOVED IT!! made as written enjoyed very much. Will make again with a few changes for enhancement only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mstexas63

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This coffee cake is delicious. Because others said it didn't have enough "umph", I added 1 tsp cinnamon to the dry ingredients. I also substituted fat free plain yogurt for the sour cream as well as whole wheat pastry flour for the all-purpose. Because it has 1/2 cup butter, it's plenty decadent without the fat from the sour cream. you won't miss it! It took 1 hour and 5 minutes to bake. I thought it might be overdone because it was so much longer than the recipe states, but it's moist and delicious. Totally a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I cut this in half for and 8X8 pan for breakfast this morning. Huge mistake!!! I now have another 8X8 pan in the oven baking. I was saving half of my leftover peaches to make muffins, but everyone loved this cake so much that I ended up using them for another pan. This is so moist and delicious. A few changes based on what I had: didn't use pecans in the topping, used brown sugar in the topping because that is my preference. I also didn't layer the batter. I spread the batter in the bottom of the pan, placed the peaches on top and then sprinkled with the streusel. This worked really well for me. I think that this recipe would work well with other fruits and berries as well and will definitely be trying this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
a little bland for my taste but good, I made extra crumb topping and am very glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This is a good recipe and a nice side dish at breakfast time, and looks delicious. The cake was light and moist and the peaches tender -- everything you'd expect a coffee cake to be. But like some others I found the overall recipe lacking in flavor. Part of that (I think) was because my peaches were bland, but mostly I think this recipe needs spices added to the batter and/or sugar/spices added to the fresh peaches. If I make it again, I'd be tempted to make extra topping and add a layer of topping under the peaches. Canned peaches might actually be better because of the extra sugar/syrup would add flavor. I used my stand mixer and mixed the batter really well till light. Be sure not to put too much batter on the bottom half (layer will seem thin but that's OK) or you won't have enough to stretch over the top. I found that using dinner knives (one to spread the batter and the other to scrape stuck batter off the spreader) did the trick in mostly covering the peaches. Love the topping and it was a satisfactory amount for me. By the way, using fresh peaches, this takes much longer than the 20 minutes indicated to prepare. I used a glass pan sprayed with coating (no flour) and the cake came right out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancySJ
Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I whipped this up with my 8 year old daughter for Sunday breakfast and it was absolutely fantastic! The only changes I made are; I used canned peaches, (1 big can), used plain Bulgarian yogurt instead of sour cream(all I had) with a bit of milk and omitted the nuts. It was delicious, soft and moist with hot peaches oozing out the middle and a nice crunchy topping! Had the leftovers for dessert with custard the next day, fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnitaBoetius

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
used peaches from the freezer that i had picked last summer. tasted fine right out of the oven but after cooling lost much of it's appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
very good, made one yesterday it was gone in just a few hours !! I put in 1 tsp cinnamon and one 2 tsp of almond ext in the batter , then at the end a powder sugar frosting on top !!it was very good !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
My sister could not stop talking about this scrumptious cake! It was to die for! And the best part of it all was that I used "Smart Balance Light", in place of the butter, reduced fat sour cream, and lastly Splenda Sugar blend for baking in place of the sugar. And you couldn't even come close to noticing. However, I must admit that I commited two moral sins: #1: I used canned peaches (which when put into context was the only reason I made this cake, because I had so many cans of peaches!) and #2: I didn't make the to-die-for crumb topping, which I love on nearly everything, simply becuase I was too lazy. Ah well! But I am going to go out on a limb and say that I did do something to make up for those sins (haha). I made a concotion that turned out to be delicious and complenting glaze for this cake! I took some raspberry preserves and I put them in a saucepan over medium high heat until they become almost "syruppy", persay. Then I added them to some sour cream and mixed the two together with a wee bit of splenda and drizzled over the cake! Yum! The raspberry and peach flavors go divine together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States