Peach Coffee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Soft, moist, delicious and easy! I felt like I could have used about 6 cups of peaches at least, instead of just 4. I was hoping it would be more peachy. I also sprinkled some sugar and cinnamon on top of the peaches before added the second layer of cake, and it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
My granddaughter just made this cake from some of our fresh peaches.The recipe was simple and I only had to go to store for sour cream. All the other ingredients were in my kitchen. The cake was delicious. My husband and I both love it.The grandkids all tried it and said they liked it, but I don't think it was one of their favorites, so doesn't seem to be a kids kind of cake.I did have to bake it ten minutes longer than recipe said. My oven is not working right lately so I'm not sure if it would need to be baked longer in regular oven. A little cool whip on top really made it hit the spot. I'm wondering if same recipe can be used for apples? We have several apple trees and when they're ripe I'm planning on trying it.Not sure if need to cook apples first. This is one recipe I'm going to use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
As I began to spread the first half of the batter in the pan, I got a little impatient. So, taking the lead from mominml, I put all the batter in the pan, then topped it with the peaches and streusel. It did work well, and it was so much easier than spreading the two layers of batter. The butter and sour cream contributed great flavor and made the cake deliciously moist – so moist, I fear, that if there were leftovers the next day they’d be soggy. Not wanting to take any chances, I froze individual pieces of the remaining cake. I appreciated the buttery rich flavor of the cake against the fresh, pure flavor of the peaches, with no other spices or distracting add-ins. I made the recipe with no changes – other than my concern about it getting soggy if it hung around for more than a day, it was perfect just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Wonderful! I don't have sour cream so I used skim milk. It made a wonderful smooth silky batter. No trouble spreading it in the pan! And it baked up soft and fluffy. Tastes great. I also didn't peel the peaches. I never do for cobbler either. I will certainly make it again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
LOVED IT!! made as written enjoyed very much. Will make again with a few changes for enhancement only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mstexas63

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This coffee cake is delicious. Because others said it didn't have enough "umph", I added 1 tsp cinnamon to the dry ingredients. I also substituted fat free plain yogurt for the sour cream as well as whole wheat pastry flour for the all-purpose. Because it has 1/2 cup butter, it's plenty decadent without the fat from the sour cream. you won't miss it! It took 1 hour and 5 minutes to bake. I thought it might be overdone because it was so much longer than the recipe states, but it's moist and delicious. Totally a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I cut this in half for and 8X8 pan for breakfast this morning. Huge mistake!!! I now have another 8X8 pan in the oven baking. I was saving half of my leftover peaches to make muffins, but everyone loved this cake so much that I ended up using them for another pan. This is so moist and delicious. A few changes based on what I had: didn't use pecans in the topping, used brown sugar in the topping because that is my preference. I also didn't layer the batter. I spread the batter in the bottom of the pan, placed the peaches on top and then sprinkled with the streusel. This worked really well for me. I think that this recipe would work well with other fruits and berries as well and will definitely be trying this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
a little bland for my taste but good, I made extra crumb topping and am very glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This is a good recipe and a nice side dish at breakfast time, and looks delicious. The cake was light and moist and the peaches tender -- everything you'd expect a coffee cake to be. But like some others I found the overall recipe lacking in flavor. Part of that (I think) was because my peaches were bland, but mostly I think this recipe needs spices added to the batter and/or sugar/spices added to the fresh peaches. If I make it again, I'd be tempted to make extra topping and add a layer of topping under the peaches. Canned peaches might actually be better because of the extra sugar/syrup would add flavor. I used my stand mixer and mixed the batter really well till light. Be sure not to put too much batter on the bottom half (layer will seem thin but that's OK) or you won't have enough to stretch over the top. I found that using dinner knives (one to spread the batter and the other to scrape stuck batter off the spreader) did the trick in mostly covering the peaches. Love the topping and it was a satisfactory amount for me. By the way, using fresh peaches, this takes much longer than the 20 minutes indicated to prepare. I used a glass pan sprayed with coating (no flour) and the cake came right out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancySJ
Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I whipped this up with my 8 year old daughter for Sunday breakfast and it was absolutely fantastic! The only changes I made are; I used canned peaches, (1 big can), used plain Bulgarian yogurt instead of sour cream(all I had) with a bit of milk and omitted the nuts. It was delicious, soft and moist with hot peaches oozing out the middle and a nice crunchy topping! Had the leftovers for dessert with custard the next day, fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnitaBoetius

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States