Peach Coffee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Did anyone else notice that trying to spread half the batter this recipe makes in a 9x13 pan results in a film about ¼ inch thick? I chose to use the whole amount for the bottom layer and made a second batch for the top layer. Better, I think, to use an 8-inch round pan and maybe two cups of chopped peaches. I made the streusel with brown sugar instead of white for better flavor. And the reviewer who worried that the cake would get soggy overnight is absolutely correct - serve this within a few hours after baking or it becomes inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Delicious, we couldn't stop at 1 slice. I added 1/4 tsp Chinese 5 spice (per Chief John) & 1/4 tsp nutmeg to the batter. For the topping I used brown sugar, added cinnamon & nutmeg but replaced part of the flour with oatmeal. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by adelinka
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I have decided to bake because I had several peaches left from my homemade iced tea. This Cake seemed easy to bake and it is indeed! As I said I used peaches soaked in black tea with mint. I didn't use any kind of nuts but instead I put just cinammon and nutmeg on the top and on the peach layer. I baked it more then 45min and I think it would deserve even more but anyway the cake was delicious and fine!! I recommend drinking Arabic coffee with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Just made it for a Peach Festival--and had TWELVE people ask me for the recipe!! My only change was that I doubled the "crumb" topping. Simply FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I gave this 3 stars because I had to play with it to get a good result. I used dark brown sugar, 3 cups of chopped peaches, added an extra tablespoon of butter to the recipe and added flavour. I replaced the vanilla with ground coriander seed and ground clove, adding both to the batter and the topping (and skipped the cinnamon), which was very sparse. Instead of doubling it, I sprinkled the whole thing with some coconut palm sugar. And I used oats in place of the nuts. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
A very good recipe, I have the recipe put 8 inch pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was awesome - is a really good desert - hot with ice cream - or just plain. Left out the pecans, but the topping still had a nice crunch. I think I will try it with the pears that will be ripe next month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Light, not too sweet but satisfying. I also used yogurt in place of sour cream (but it was vanilla!)and an all-purpose gluten-free flour for half the flour (that was all I had). I did use extra cinnamon throughout the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Made this tonight and it was SUCH a hit. Moist, but fluffy. The only addition I made to the original batter was the addition of a teaspoon of cinnamon, because others had said it was bland. I didn't peel the peaches and it was fine. I spread the batter in the pan and put the peaches on top, rather than try to split it up and do it in layers - and I also doubled the topping per another reviewers suggestion. This could be lightened I'm sure, but we went with the full on calorie bomb version and were very happy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This has the potential to be a great recipe. First time I made it was as directed and was somewhat disappointed, it was good but not great, as other have said it seemed to be missing something. The second time, I added cinnamon, little extra brown sugar and used vanilla paste in place of the extract. Much much better as it punches up the flavor a bit. Make sure you layer the peaches and cake mixture, it really makes for a better result. It just takes a minute so don't be lazy! Overall a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States