Peach Coffee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
Delicious, light, coffee cake! Instead of sour cream I used half plain Greek yogurt and half vanilla-flavored yogurt. I also used brown sugar in the topping which definitely needs to be doubled. I did not and wish I had. My cake came out very fluffy, airy, and not real sweet. It was perfect for me. For those who like a sweeter cake, I would add more sugar. I layered the batter with the peaches in the middle as the recipe states and that's the way to go. It looks beautiful when done. Also, I made a half batch of this and cooked it in a 9" square pan. That was the perfect size. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
Turned out super great! After reading one comment about it lacking flavor, I added cinnamon over the peaches before covering with the rest of the batter - PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
I loved it. It had a pound cake like consistency, but it wasn't quite sweet enough for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Did anyone else notice that trying to spread half the batter this recipe makes in a 9x13 pan results in a film about ¼ inch thick? I chose to use the whole amount for the bottom layer and made a second batch for the top layer. Better, I think, to use an 8-inch round pan and maybe two cups of chopped peaches. I made the streusel with brown sugar instead of white for better flavor. And the reviewer who worried that the cake would get soggy overnight is absolutely correct - serve this within a few hours after baking or it becomes inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Delicious, we couldn't stop at 1 slice. I added 1/4 tsp Chinese 5 spice (per Chief John) & 1/4 tsp nutmeg to the batter. For the topping I used brown sugar, added cinnamon & nutmeg but replaced part of the flour with oatmeal. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by adelinka
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I have decided to bake because I had several peaches left from my homemade iced tea. This Cake seemed easy to bake and it is indeed! As I said I used peaches soaked in black tea with mint. I didn't use any kind of nuts but instead I put just cinammon and nutmeg on the top and on the peach layer. I baked it more then 45min and I think it would deserve even more but anyway the cake was delicious and fine!! I recommend drinking Arabic coffee with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Just made it for a Peach Festival--and had TWELVE people ask me for the recipe!! My only change was that I doubled the "crumb" topping. Simply FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I gave this 3 stars because I had to play with it to get a good result. I used dark brown sugar, 3 cups of chopped peaches, added an extra tablespoon of butter to the recipe and added flavour. I replaced the vanilla with ground coriander seed and ground clove, adding both to the batter and the topping (and skipped the cinnamon), which was very sparse. Instead of doubling it, I sprinkled the whole thing with some coconut palm sugar. And I used oats in place of the nuts. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
A very good recipe, I have the recipe put 8 inch pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was awesome - is a really good desert - hot with ice cream - or just plain. Left out the pecans, but the topping still had a nice crunch. I think I will try it with the pears that will be ripe next month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States