Peach Cobbler IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
I've made this several times and tweaked it to my taste. I do not like soupy cobblers. I prefer a cake like dough without a lot of juice on the fruit. I do not usually have self-rising flour on hand, so instead I use regular flour and add 1/2 tsp. salt and 1 tsp. baking powder. For the peaches, instead of canned peaches, I use 1 pint of frozen peaches that have been thawed. I spoon them evenly over the batter before baking. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2001
After making a traditional time-taking peach cobbler with a homemade butter crust, this recipe was so not up to par. I apologize, but it was horrible. I'm a "crust" and "dough" person, and this "cake-like" setting was just ikky to me. My husband on ther other hand liked it. This just wasn't peach cobbler to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I have been looking for this recipe. My grandmother made this and I have missed this comfort cobbler. It is very good and taste the way it is suppose to.....THANK YOU for the recipe. God Bless You. I put the 29 oz can of peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMJNANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pell City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
this is the cobbler I was rasied up on. a true southern recipe, it was created during the depression when cooks had limited foods. I notice some reviews likes a cake like texture. not me , only I added was a little sprinkle of cinamon over peaches and drained half the juice from can peaches using 29oz, 16oz don't drain. for those who don't like too much butter, just use 1/2 stick butter. thanks again for adding this recipe and all the loving memories it brought back to me. janis, alabama
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
This is like the recipe my grama made for me when I was young. I love it. It turns out great everytime and it's so easy to make. I'll be making this many, many more times. I made it for my dad, who also loved grama's cobbler, and he said this is the recipe. Thanks. (o:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
My Mama-in-law is a peach cobbler expert and she absolutely loved this! I did heed the advise of some of the reviewers and used 29 oz. of peaches. Very simple, easy and a recipe I'll use again on every holiday Mama spends with us!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Fantastic, outstanding, exceptional! This is now one of my most favorite recipes from this site. I can't say enough about it. I almost missed out 'cause everyone inhaled this cobbler. It was there one minute, almost gone the next. I used dark brown sugar, butter instead of margarine, and Margaret Holmes O'sage Peaches, lightly chopped with some of the juices (these are the best canned peaches you'll EVER eat), also added a pinch of cinnamon to the batter and OH MY GOODNESS was it good!! Served along side Natural Vanilla Bean ice cream...I could eat this everyday!! Mine was neither dry nor bland. I'd put money that it's the type of peaches that are being used by other reviewers. If you can, use the peaches I mentioned and surely you can't go wrong. I think Del Monte cans a freestone peach, and they're good, but not as good as the Margaret Holmes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I had tried many recipes for cobbler and just couldn't fet one right....This one was great. My whole family loved it so much that there was no leftovers. It tates so good with a scoop of vanilla icecream when it comes right out of the oven...Thanks a bunch for such a easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Meoqui, Chihuahua, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
What a hit! One desert my whole family raves over! I've made this a few times and i'd like to contribute the following changes/additions; reduce margarine to 1/2 a stick; sprinkle on top- 1 tsp of cinnamon, 3 tblsp brown sugar, 3 tblsp oatmeal and a couple of dollops of Apple Butter. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This is the recipe my grandmother used. It's always such a comfort food to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleBetty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States