Peach Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This was a great recipe! I used it with fresh peaches and apples. If you didn't like it, here's probably what went wrong- yes, the butter should be reduced by 2-3 tablespoons. To keep the crust white/ golden brown, sprinkle the cinnamon on top of the peaches- putting it in the batter will make it too dark. Finally, this recipe is best with FRESH peaches; canned peaches are so saturated with syrup and other stuff that they don't soak up the butter. Additional juices/ syrup makes everything runny and the crust mushy, so if you have to used canned peaches, drain them really really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
I loved this!!! I added cinnamon to the peaches and doubled the batter as suggested for a 9 X 13. Also tried the exact recipe in a 8X8 pan and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I've never made Peach Cobbler until today and I used this recipe...it tasted WONDERFUL, I didn't change a thing in the recipe...I used 10 medium peaches that I got over at our local Farmers Market..to peal them easily drop peaches in boiling water for about a minute and then take them out of the boiling water with a opened spoon and put them in cold water. I'll definitely use this recipe again..IT'S A KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
We love this recipe! This is the best cobbler I ever had. We do double the dough though. The recipe here is just a little too little. I have used this recipe for other fruits as well. Just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Yum! I cut this recipe in half and tried to make it a bit healthier :) I used 1T low fat margarine, reduced the sugar in the dry ingredients to half, and did not put any sugar on the peaches. Cooked in an 8x8 square dish for 30 minutes - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
This recipe contains way too much butter. After it was baked the butter pooled up on top and it took five paper towels to soak it up! What a shame to let all those fresh peaches swim in all that grease. I'd reccmmend that others just butter the bottom of the baking dish or use a reasonable few tablespoons. The topping was flavorful but didn't rise much. It was more crunchy than cakey. There is lots of room for improvement here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
So simple, yet so good! I cut the amount of butter in half and added an extra cup of peaches - you can never have too many peaches, right? I also used brown sugar vs. white to toss with the peaches and added a generous splash of vanilla. I left everything else the same and it baked up beautifully! It smelled wonderful and tasted even better topped with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
I made this in an 8x8 pan and was a bit skeptical at first when all the butter was coming to the top, but as it cooks, the topping rises up. Delicious! My fiance, who wanted me to get his mom's recipe, actually approved of this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
I tried this recipe two different ways. Once using peaches and the second time I used nectarines. Both of them turned out great and everyone liked both styles. Next time I plan to use a fifty-fifty split between peaches and nectarines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2000
Quick and very tasty. My apricot trees have started yielding their fruit a week ago, so I used them instead of peaches. It came out a little runny, though. Next time I think I will add some tapioca to the fruit before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States