Peach Cobbler Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
This is advice to others who might be turned off by previous comments. Dump cake is not somethig Jessica invented. The first one I made had cherry pie filling (yum), and I have tried blueberry, apple, and peach pie filling. The cherry dump cake recipe uses cinnamon; therefore, I use plenty with all of the pie fillings. Also, don't bother cutting the butter; just melt it. Vary the amount of butter depending your taste. (Real butter makes a big difference.) I like cake mix on the top and bottom. Experiment. Blueberry, apple, and peach pie filling might need added sweetener or sugar; just taste it before assemblying the cake. Don't expect an actual cake to pop out of the oven; expect a cobbler. If you're not pleased, try changing something (i.e. the amount of butter, coverage of the butter, sweetener, cooking time, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1041 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
If you notice this is my 2nd review. I did what others stated about melting the butter instead of thinly slicing.. NO WAY...Came out way soggy & i even drained a lil juice since I was trying the melted butter way. NOPE not for me.. The other is a little time consuming because you have to cover all AREAS with thinly sliced butter or will have dry patches. The time is worth it to me. Did not like the melted butter way, wish I did a lot quicker.. but nope... read my other review on this because this is outta this world good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
518 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Wonderfull camping recipie. I make this in my motorhome. My grandkids love it. To distribute the butter evenly, I use cold butter and a small grater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
500 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
I LOVE to bake. I bake a lot of recipes that are very involved and time-consuming. My father explained a cake to me he saw on a cooking show and wanted it for Fathers Day. I, of course, turned to AllRecipes.com and found this recipe. I was a little hesitant because it seemed way too easy. I made it and followed some other reviewers suggestions and added 1/2 cup brown sugar sprinkled on top followed by the cinnamon. My husband and my sister-in-law wouldn't shut up about it!! I can't believe slaving over a stove making all of these fancy things - and this is the one he absolutely loves - go figure! Thanks - I'll be making this over and over and over....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This cake was so good. I changed the recipe a little though. Instead of just adding the dry cake mix on top of the peaches I mixed the cake mix with the eggs and the oil and then I spread the cake mix over the peaches. I also sprinkled cinnamon over the peaches. Very delicious served with vanilla ice cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prittypriss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
I have made this recipe for many years and my family loves it. I partially drain the peaches and mine is never soggy. I also find it easier to melt the butter or margarine and drizzle it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
I've made this several times and it's a good, easy dessert. To cut down on the "sweetness", use peaches in very light syrup instead of heavy syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
Very good, quick and easy to make. My 13 year old made it with very little help from me. It's rich and very sweet, but the sweetness lessens after the first day and the taste is great. I have tried regular and lite peaches. The lite is definitely the best. I added about 1 1/2 teaspoons of cinnamon to the peaches and sprinkled cinnamon on top of the butter. It was a VERY big hit and everyone loved it. The best part is that noone knew that the topping was a cake mix! This one's a keeper. I've made it at least 10 times! Just too easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DM COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
Yummy, I made it for dinner. everyone loved it couldn't belive that you put the cake mix in dry. Wasn't sogy, I did drain off some of the juice. I used peaches that I had canned with no sugar. Put about 1/4 cup brown sugar on top of mix with some cinnamon & the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
My Bunco group loved this! Be sure to cut the butter into tiny pieces to ensure it melts properly and you don't end up with powdered cake mix on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 528) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States