Peach Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I also made some changes to recipe, substituted 1/4 c brown sugar for 1/4 c white sugar, added 1/4 t nutmeg, 1 t vanilla. Also made a glaze of 1 c powdered sugar, 1 t milk, 1 t vanilla and poured over cake when hot. Made a nice crunchy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Very good cake. I made mine into 2 8-inch round cakes and layered them with a butter cream frosting. I think it would have been better with no frosting to be honest. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Not at all what I was looking for. Greasy, dense consistency. Nothing like any cake I've ever eaten. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKSATTLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Oh mercy, this was good. I left the skins on the peaches, rough chopped them into large chunks, and increased the measurement to 3 cups fresh. I substituted walnuts for the pecans (since that's what I had on hand - a lovely pairing). I made the glaze as others recommended (sugar, butter, and evaporated milk) but halved the stated amounts because I didn't want the glaze to overwhelm the cake. The cake cooked fully in 40 minutes. As soon as I took it out of the oven, I poked numerous holes in the top with a toothpick (then filled the holes with glaze in addition to covering the entire top with glaze). Sweet, spicy, comforting, tasty. Give it a try while peaches are in season, it's delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This was so easy and delicious!! We served it with sour cream icing! Equal parts sour cream and powdered sugar! Perfect for summer birthdays! Also I used frozen peach slices that I had thawed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This was very good and so simple to make. My only small change was to reduce the cinnamon to 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by algerta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Stream, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Quick, easy and SO good! Probably used more like 3 cups of peaches and cut the slices into smaller pieces. This doesn't need any topping at all except for some whipped cream. I will make this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Certainly simple, but a little sweet for my tastes. I think in future I'd rather stir peaches into a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Great cake! The only change I made, was halfing the cinnamon, and adding 1/2 tsp butter flavoring. It was still a bit too cinnamon-y for my taste, but even though, it was worth it. And so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I used whole wheat flour, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp almond extract and about 2 1/4 cup peaches chopped small. Cake was EXCELLENT! Very most and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlb54321

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States