Peach Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Very yummy! I used the refrigerated pie crusts and 1/4 c corn starch in lieu of tapioca. My peaches were really juicy, South Carolina peaches and local blueberries which I had frozen. I used a bit more fruit than called for and added 1/2 tbsp of apple pie spice and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. Pie set well after cooling. Took to a friend's for dinner and it was a big hit, especially with vanilla ice cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Hammond-Beyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I love this recipe I've made it three times and just love it, it is a little on the runny side but the flavor is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I made this pie last night for my husband. I didn't have tapioca but after reading the other reviews I don't think that would have mattered. I substituted 2 T of cornstarch and it did not get thick at all. After looking at a peach pie recipe with the same amount of sugar, I think I will increase the cornstarch to 1/4 c. next time and that probably will do the trick. I will make it again as the taste was incredible - and I am NOT a pie eater. I had one small piece at 9 pm last night. There are only 2 pieces left - the hubby has eaten 5 pieces in about 16 hrs. - 2 for breakfast with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Have made this pie 3 times in as many weeks. Used a little over 3 cups peaches each time - only change. Yummy delicious! Made with the Short Sweet Pastry on this site as the crust. So good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Make sure that you are using quick-cooking tapioca. The pie is done when it bubbles through the slits in the top crust. Follow this rule rather than a strict baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I made a variation of this pie and it turned out wonderful. I used flour in place of the tapioca. I also used brown sugar in place of white and added a teaspoon of almond extract. I also used a can of blueberry pie filling because that is what I had on hand. I read the reviews and found the comment tip about leaving the pie in the oven for an hour after you turn it off and it really made a huge difference. Nice firm pie and very tasty already have requests to make it again. I did a crumb topping as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
As another review stated, I followed recipe and pie ended up soupy. Think I'll try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Really enjoyed this recipe. I used two store bought pie crusts [cuz I was lazy] and laid the second one on top and pinched the edges together. It looked like a semi-professional job when I was done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjvarnadoe68

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Perfect recipe. My hubby's new favourite pie! Can use canned peaches, but best fresh/frozen. Great tip is to turn oven off and open a crack when timer goes off. Let it cool in the oven for 1 hour before removing. Never a runny pie. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, and ended up with a pie crust full of soupy peaches & blueberries, the flavor was delicious but I think something is missing, corn starch? flour? I'm going to make it again and tweek the recipe by adding some starch. Next day after refrigeration the pie took shape! I will make again and give it time to set in the refrigerator overnight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States