Peach Berry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
While I liked this very much, I would make the following changes: Use less sugar in the topping, and more in the fruit; increase the fruit, and/or omit the water, so it will be less soupy and have more concentrated fruit flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This was good, peaches and blueberries are always a great combination. However, I had two small problems with the recipe. Firstly, I found the fruit layer a drop too tart. I usually cut the sugar in recipes, but here even I think it needs more sweetner. In addition, as a I try more and more cobblers I'm finding that there are two basic types - with the dough on top or the dough on bottom. It seems that when the dough is on top (like it is here) you tend to get a compote with cake floating on top, not a real cobbler. I think I'm going to keep looking for more dough on bottom recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
Very quick and easy. I used frozen peaches from last summer and it turned out great! The topping more cake like (like my grandmother's) vs. biscuit like (like my mother's). The dish needs to be at least 8" sqaure and 2" deep - my dish was a bit shallow and a lot of the juices ran over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2000
Very good. I am not a peach cobbler fan but adding the blueberries, I even liked it. My family ate the whole thing in 1 settting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Delicious, but way too soupy. I had to eat it with a spoon! Next time I'll add more fruit, less cornstarch/water mixture. I'll also double the topping next time, as I had barely enough to cover the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Wonderful cobbler! (Note that the crust is cake-like.) The only change I made was to add 1/4 tsp. cinnamon as well as the 1/4 tsp. nutmeg to the sugar coating. Serving warm with vanilla ice cream is a must! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
I, too, added the blueberries at the end of the cooking-fruit-process so they would be more likely to stay whole and they did. Nothing at all wrong with this recipe, but not GREAT. I like great. :-) I did like the way the batter formed a sort of crunchy crust on top as it baked due to the coarse sugar sprinkling. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2001
I made this for our 4th of july cook-out and everyone loved it, especially my teenage son. evey bit was gone that night. The peaches and blueberries really complemented each other. The topping was very good,I did add cinnamon to the batter and sprinled cinnamon/sugar over top. DELICIOUS!! my son has asked me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
This is a great recipe. I made this recipe for the first time in February when peaches were out of season with 4 cups of blueberries and it was wonderful. Well peaches are in season now so I had to try it mixed with the blueberries and it is still to die for. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Ramer-Bozzo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
Really fresh, full-of-flavor, fruit works best. I add app. 1 tsp. of almond flavoring to the batter. My husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaOutNAbout

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States