Pea Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I made this for a gathering and there was not very many people. Everyone said how good it was and there was nothing left after the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
It was ok, my kids wouldn't eat it. And they like all the ingredients. I didn't really enjoy it much either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
12-19-11: This approaches a '5', could have used a little more dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
My daughter needed a dish to share with her friends at their "OMG we're going to college!" dinner tonight and we needed to accomodate for both vegetarians & meatatarians--We just saved the bacon for a topping (but I wasn't sure soggy bacon would be delish anyways!) and it was a hit. The only additions I made were to add finely diced purple onion & an equal amount of white wine vingear to the white sugar called for in the recipe. Added a nice little up note to the mayo dressing that would have been too sweet without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Amazing! Delicious =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Fantastic! 9x13 pan was cleaned out in no time at all! Thought the sugar was a lot as I was dumping it in, so I added some white wine vinegar. I also used more milk than the recipe called for, the dressing seemed too thick to spread nicely. Made half the pan with meat, the other half had no meat for the vegetarians in the crowd. Both halves were devoured!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Love it!!! After finding this recipe here over 5 years ago it has become a staple at all of our family get togethers! After making it several times I decided to change it up a little bit by adding various things. No way, they all wanted the "old pea salad" back! The one thing I did change was the layering... lettuce, peas, eggs, dressing, cheese then bacon. I also make it up the night before to give everything a chance to "meld" ... Great recipe, thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorpark, California, USA
Living In: Ashland, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
My mother used to make this same recipe and it was a favorite. I've continued the tradition. I tweak it a bit... add fresh spinach in place of some of the lettuce and add thin sliced red onion and thin sliced celery. Make in a trifle bowl for a beautiful presentation. I like to top with ringlets of red onion. Very pretty and delicious! Best if made the night before serving because the flavors really marry and enhance each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This is an awesome salad for just about any occasion. I've taken it to office luncheons and family picnics, always leaving some behind to eat at home. Two things I've discovered, and one is essential in my mind: 1. Be sure to remove at least the larger ribs from your Romaine lettuce. The big, thick ribs are bitter and can really spoil this salad, in my opinion. 2: You don't have to layer it. Mixing the ingredients together is easy, and weirdly I've seen more of it disappear when it's NOT layered. I really don't think it's any less attractive when mixed, and you don't have to worry about your presentation being ruined when you take it on the road.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I had requests for Green Pea salad on our salad bar at the restaurant I work in, so yours is the recipe I chose to try. Our customers absolutely love this simple salad! I don't use the lettuce because it's already on a full salad bar. I just mix up what what be probably a triple batch of the recipe here, and make sure it sits for at least a few hours chilling. Not a pea lover (or even "liker" myself, I can't rate the salad based on my own tastes. Our customers, however, and quite many of the staff give it (and you!) a major high five. Thanks a great and simple homemade salad recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Snell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Findley Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Tionesta, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States