Paydirt Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
These were really good, but my package of cookie mix didn't come with peanut butter, so I added 1/4 of a cup. I don't think it was enough. The cookies are a wonderful texture, just didn't have that rich peanut butter flavor I was craving. It was kind of a cross between a peanut butter cookie and a sugar cookie. My husband LOVED them, and the batch made enough for our family, two neighbors and my husband's office, so I think it's worth another try. 8 minutes in the oven was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I can't tell you how many times I've made this recipe, they are great. The butter flavored shortening is very important. One time I didn't have any so I used regular, they were good, but not as good with the butter flavor. I am making again today for our family reunion tomorrow. Every time I've made these, I've had many compliments. Who cares if you need the cookie mix, if they're good, that's all that matters. Of yeah, I can't find the mix in the box any longer, so I use the bag one and add a decent dollop additional of peanut butter, still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
These were really good cookies-the recipe made a lot. They are soft and chewy but have crisp outer edges-not dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I have wanted to try this recipe since I saw it,however,I must say that the ratings kept me from doing so...Until yesterday...I had a Betty Crocker mix and wanted to make more cookies,so I used this as an extender...That truly is what it is...I made 60 huge,bakery style,melt in your mouth cookies!I had only 3/4 cup peanut butter though,so I ended up replacing 1/4 of butter for a portion of the shortening...I have always liked the shortening/butter mix...It gave it a better flavor...I baked on parchment paper for 8 minutes...They don' appear done,but they are...For crispier cookies,bake 10 minutes..They will start to burn on the bottom if you bake any longer than that...TRY THIS RECIPE...I PROMISE YOU WON'T BE SORRY!THANKS ADAM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
These cookies were incredible. Very much worth the time. I used butter instead of shortening, 1:1. It didn't seem to matter. Love this recipe and will keep in my dessert arsenal! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
The best peanut butter cookie I ever had. I always double the recipe because there is never enough of them to go around!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I made these for a work party, and they were gone in no time! This recipe makes a lot - I got 6 dozen. I kept a couple dozen at home. They seem to "age" well - the first day they are crispy on the outside and chewy in the middle, the second day they are deliciously flaky, and the third day they are nice and crunchy. They always taste fresh. I highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
UNBELIEVABLY good!!! The BEST PB cookies EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleend74

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I have been using this site for years now and this is the first time I have rated any recipes. This peanut butter cookie recipe was great. I really loved it as did my family and friends. It made a ton of cookies. The only thing I did different was use a sugar cookie mix instead of the peanut butter one. I added extra peanut butter to the recipe and they were truly delicious. Thank you so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
These are okay, but not the WOW I was hoping for. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States