Pavlova's Pavlova Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Fabulous. One important note about pavlova - do not try to make if weather is very humid other wise it is just gummy and chewy enough to pull out the fillings in your mouth. The cornstarch and vinegar help to stablize this, but still best made on a dry day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
YUM! Out here in West Texas we rarely have to worry about humid days and this whipped up (pun intended) beautifully! I followed the recipe only deviating at the last minute by making 5 individual "nests" instead of just one. I still baked it as stated in the recipe and the five little "nests" turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I made this topped with whipped cream and strawberries for a Mother's Day dessert and the plate was scraped clean! It is a perfect light dessert. I've never had Pavlova before, only the crisp-all the-way-through type of meringue, so I'm only guessing that it turned out correctly. It was crisply dry on the outside with a marshmallowy soft center. I made some temperature adjustments for my convection oven and once the Pavlova was done, I just turned the oven off and left it in the oven until completely cool. I followed a comment on another Pavlova recipe by that said to only slightly sweeten the whipped cream for topping the dessert. The sweet of the meringue and the tart of the fruit and the barely sweetened cream are in balance that way. (PS- I asked a Kiwi friend about how it is supposed to come out and he said that soft but not runny in the middle is correct and that they almost always cave in on top when you put the fruit on it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
This recipie is wonderful! My husband was born in Australia and my mother in law has made this for me and I fell in love with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatarat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paragonah, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
Excellent recipe! I decorated the cake with chocolate flakes and chocolate sauce and served with tinned fruit on the side. Everybody loved it and I will definately do it again! Thank you, Christina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
Great recipe! I followed the recipe exactly, except instead of making one large cake I made 5 small ones so everyone can have an individual desert. I made this for my friends and they LOVED IT. I will definately make this again, but I will probably use less sugar next time, as this was a bit too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
A friend made this for me years ago, and called it a Shaum Torte, but the Shaum Torte recipes at this site looked more like traditional merengues. This was what I was looking for. Whipped up some fresh heavy cream, and served it with strawberries. Great summer dessert. There's nothing like that soft, creamy, marshmallow-like center. I love it. If you've never had it--give it a try. Unique and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Fabulous recipe. I took it to work and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I've not had much luck with Pavlova in the past, but this came out great!! I made 6 individual Pavlova's and cut the baking time. My guests were impressed with their individual desserts. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joebaker

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
followed the recipie exactly but i added some unsweetened cocoa powder and folded it in 5 or 6 times, for a marbled effect delicious and chocolaty! topped it with cool whip and strawberries, super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peavy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States