Pavlova's Pavlova Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
Great recipe! I followed the recipe exactly, except instead of making one large cake I made 5 small ones so everyone can have an individual desert. I made this for my friends and they LOVED IT. I will definately make this again, but I will probably use less sugar next time, as this was a bit too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I didn't add the sugar to the whites right away. You'll get a better rise out of your whites (& won't have to whip it as long) if you whip the whites to a soft peak first, then gradually add the sugar. I cooked mine on an aluminum baking sheet so I added 10 minutes to the cook time. I let it cool in the oven for two hours & it was still too gooey in the center. I was barely able to grab a pic before the pile of cherries I put on top, caved in the pavlova. :o( There's another recipe, on this site, that calls for the pavlova to be baked @ 300 degrees for an hour...that one worked much better for me. I'll use it again next time but thanks anyway Christina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
A friend made this for me years ago, and called it a Shaum Torte, but the Shaum Torte recipes at this site looked more like traditional merengues. This was what I was looking for. Whipped up some fresh heavy cream, and served it with strawberries. Great summer dessert. There's nothing like that soft, creamy, marshmallow-like center. I love it. If you've never had it--give it a try. Unique and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I've not had much luck with Pavlova in the past, but this came out great!! I made 6 individual Pavlova's and cut the baking time. My guests were impressed with their individual desserts. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joebaker

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Great pavlova recipe. Crunchy outside soft inside. Only thing - I'd add less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
Excellent recipe! I decorated the cake with chocolate flakes and chocolate sauce and served with tinned fruit on the side. Everybody loved it and I will definately do it again! Thank you, Christina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
This recipie is wonderful! My husband was born in Australia and my mother in law has made this for me and I fell in love with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatarat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paragonah, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Maybe I was doing something wrong but this was terribly hard to make! It also tasted too much like egg and it wouldn't shape properly. I found that the outside burned and the inside was undercooked. Despite the other good reviews, I found this recipe frustrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I made this topped with whipped cream and strawberries for a Mother's Day dessert and the plate was scraped clean! It is a perfect light dessert. I've never had Pavlova before, only the crisp-all the-way-through type of meringue, so I'm only guessing that it turned out correctly. It was crisply dry on the outside with a marshmallowy soft center. I made some temperature adjustments for my convection oven and once the Pavlova was done, I just turned the oven off and left it in the oven until completely cool. I followed a comment on another Pavlova recipe by that said to only slightly sweeten the whipped cream for topping the dessert. The sweet of the meringue and the tart of the fruit and the barely sweetened cream are in balance that way. (PS- I asked a Kiwi friend about how it is supposed to come out and he said that soft but not runny in the middle is correct and that they almost always cave in on top when you put the fruit on it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This was a standard growing up in New-Zealand, and definitly a very easy and yummy desert for anyone to make. Don't open the oven until it's cooked though. Although the one my mum made had no cornstarch and use malt vinegar, but you'll find lots of different recipes they all end up being delicious ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pavlova

Crisp meringue layer topped with whipped cream and fresh fruit.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States