Pavlova's Pavlova Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
followed the recipie exactly but i added some unsweetened cocoa powder and folded it in 5 or 6 times, for a marbled effect delicious and chocolaty! topped it with cool whip and strawberries, super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peavy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I made this topped with whipped cream and strawberries for a Mother's Day dessert and the plate was scraped clean! It is a perfect light dessert. I've never had Pavlova before, only the crisp-all the-way-through type of meringue, so I'm only guessing that it turned out correctly. It was crisply dry on the outside with a marshmallowy soft center. I made some temperature adjustments for my convection oven and once the Pavlova was done, I just turned the oven off and left it in the oven until completely cool. I followed a comment on another Pavlova recipe by that said to only slightly sweeten the whipped cream for topping the dessert. The sweet of the meringue and the tart of the fruit and the barely sweetened cream are in balance that way. (PS- I asked a Kiwi friend about how it is supposed to come out and he said that soft but not runny in the middle is correct and that they almost always cave in on top when you put the fruit on it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Maybe I was doing something wrong but this was terribly hard to make! It also tasted too much like egg and it wouldn't shape properly. I found that the outside burned and the inside was undercooked. Despite the other good reviews, I found this recipe frustrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I didn't add the sugar to the whites right away. You'll get a better rise out of your whites (& won't have to whip it as long) if you whip the whites to a soft peak first, then gradually add the sugar. I cooked mine on an aluminum baking sheet so I added 10 minutes to the cook time. I let it cool in the oven for two hours & it was still too gooey in the center. I was barely able to grab a pic before the pile of cherries I put on top, caved in the pavlova. :o( There's another recipe, on this site, that calls for the pavlova to be baked @ 300 degrees for an hour...that one worked much better for me. I'll use it again next time but thanks anyway Christina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This was fantastic! Make sure that you do have the parchment paper before you make it though, I made the mistake of not using parchment paper underneath, and couldn't get it off the pan without it cracking and crumbling. I would also agree with the other reviews, I cut back to a cup of sugar and it still was very sweet. I will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Great pavlova recipe. Crunchy outside soft inside. Only thing - I'd add less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Erin, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This was a standard growing up in New-Zealand, and definitly a very easy and yummy desert for anyone to make. Don't open the oven until it's cooked though. Although the one my mum made had no cornstarch and use malt vinegar, but you'll find lots of different recipes they all end up being delicious ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I've not had much luck with Pavlova in the past, but this came out great!! I made 6 individual Pavlova's and cut the baking time. My guests were impressed with their individual desserts. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joebaker

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Fabulous recipe. I took it to work and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pavlova

Crisp meringue layer topped with whipped cream and fresh fruit.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States