Pavlova's Pavlova Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Before attempting to whip egg whites, the egg yolks must first be completely separated from the egg whites as the yolk contains fat which prevents the whites from foaming and whipping. If even a tiny speck of egg yolk is left behind the whites may not foam and whip properly. The bowl and beaters you are using to beat the egg whites must be clean and free of any grease or dirt; wash the beaters and bowl in hot water just before using to ensure everything is squeaky clean. Meringue is sensitive to the outside weather and you will have more success in making meringue on a cool dry day. Meringue absorbs moisture from the air, therefore in damp or humid weather meringues often need to bake longer than the specified time. Humidity may also cause meringues to collapse and become sticky. Adding 1 to 2 tablespoons, or even up to 1 cup of confectioners’ (powdered) sugar will help meringue hold-up in humid weather. Old egg whites whip better than fresh ones. Allow farm-fresh eggs to sit 3 to 4 days so the whites will start to thin; egg whites begin to thin and become clearer, making them easier to whip if they are a few days old. Most eggs purchased in a grocery store can be used immediately as they are likely to be at least a week old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I made with splenda and it was definitely too sweet. Next time I would only use 1/2 cup of splenda and I thought it was good plain. Used fat free cool whip and mixed berries (frozen then thawed) so the tart of the berries helped offset the sweet. Interesting consistency though. Will try it again, not a lost cause for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
By the way.. Pavlova originated in New Zealand not Australia... darn Aussies trying to steal our thunder all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! I used our fresh Blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I didn't like this recipe. My guests didn't like it either. It was way too sweet even after reducing the sugar amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Tried this for the first time this last weekend, dividing it into 6 small circles instead of one large. It came out ok but it was way too sweet and it wasn't moist on the inside. Probably will reduce the sugar next time as well as the baking time. Otherwise, it was simple to make and presents beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Turned out beautiful. If you want to use a 9" cake tin for shape, remember to cover the bottom of the tin with baking parchment, and also the sides of the tin. Otherwise it will stick. If you do this it will slide out nicely. Another tip is to cut 2 lengths of parchment to cross over below the tin-coating parchment, with the four ends sticking out all sides. That way, you can lift the pavlova neatly out of the tin without breaking the delicate meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oisín Ó Searcóid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Standish, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Wow, it was a great Christmas Pavlova certainly. I had added a french vanilla double creme to my whipped topping and topped with fresh strawberries and blueberries. It was an abolute hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is wonderful! Easy and delicious and company thinks I slaved all day to make it! Make sure you leave it in the oven for at least an hour to dry, or it'll be like sticky cotton candy. I added 4 tsps. grated lemon peel and it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANA1204

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carleton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
YUM! Out here in West Texas we rarely have to worry about humid days and this whipped up (pun intended) beautifully! I followed the recipe only deviating at the last minute by making 5 individual "nests" instead of just one. I still baked it as stated in the recipe and the five little "nests" turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pavlova

Crisp meringue layer topped with whipped cream and fresh fruit.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States