Pavlova Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I used an extra egg white and did not add the water. To add to the directions: separate eggs carefully and let whites sit about 1/2 hour to come to room temp. Beat them until foamy soft peaks appear, then very very slowly add the sugar. Use superfine sugar, or put regular sugar in food processor first. I like 1/4 cup sugar per egg white. You can lower oven temp to 250 and bake an hour, then turn off oven and let it sit until you're ready for it. The parchment paper just peeled right off. The center will probably fall...it's OK. Cover with whipped cream. I don't put sugar in the cream, just vanilla. The meringue is sweet enough. Also don't care for canned whipped cream or whipped toppings on this: too sweet. It is easier to eat if the fruit is cut up into bite sized pieces. You can whip the cream in advance and refrigerate. Just assemble quickly before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I often find with pavlova there is a gap between the crust and the marshmallow part. This is fixed by banging the tray with the pav on it on the counter a few times so that the air bubbles escape. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Excellent...I mix chopped/sliced fresh fruit with vanilla yogurt as the topping...everyone asks for the "custard" recipe...then garnish with toasted nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This meringue was perfection! It got rave reviews from all our dinner party guests. It will be my "go to" recipe from now on. I baked it before I left for work this morning and then left it in the oven cooling all day and it held up beautifully. This pavlova is such a lovely and easy summer dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Made this today for the first time and followed all the instructions and also took note of some tips in here from other reviews like: "don't use a plastic bowl" and " let the eggs come to room temperature before messing with them. It came out perfect! I have to make 2 more tomorrow. This one was a tester.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
As a kiwi-phile just back from New Zealand I would say that this recipe is excellent. You can grind normal white sugar in a coffee grinder, set at espresso (fine) to produce the fine castor sugar for the recipe. I make mine in a pie plate covered in parchment paper. The consistency is somewhere between angel food cake and cotton candy. I use fat free cool whip on top with fruit. A beautiful dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I thought the meringue would be crispy but it had the texture of a marshmallow on the inside. I followed directions exactly. It cracked around th edges and didnt look so nice, but the guests liked it. To make superfine sugar - put regular white sugar in your food processor or blender for 1 - 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHCOOPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I love this stuff !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
wow. DELICIOUS!!! i was making a project 4 nz, so when i saw the recipe, i decided it would be good 2 try with the family. then, my teacher told us we could bring food.. :D i did my project 2day, & every1 rated this recipe A+!!!!!!! now my friends wnat it 4 their b-day cake xD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I'm a kiwi (a new zealander) and i know good pavlova when i taste it,and this is good! Another ways to top it is carmel sauce and fresh strawberry's.this is one of the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fashionablah

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States