Pav Bhaji Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Completely delicious! A few key tips: use Small potatoes or it'll be way too much and taste more like aloo gobi. I used 4 very small white potatoes. It's important to cook the spices in the oil/onion/tomato paste before adding the vegetables. A food processor will give you the best texture of boiled vegetables but I just mushed mine with a wooden spoon long enough that it still turned out great. Also, skipping the butter and lemon on top or serving it with pita bread or rice is ridiculous and not what it was designed for, so don't be surprised if it's not good that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I had to improvise on this recipe based on items on hand, but also did much of what reviewer omen63 suggested because it sounded like more like the Pav Bhaji I've had before. What I ended up was simply scrumptious! Here were the mods I did by choice. I used one 10.5 oz can of tomato puree instead of whole tomatoes, and a can of green beans instead of cabbage, Based on spices on hand, I used garam masala instead of pav bhaji masala. I boiled and mashed the potatoes, cauliflower, and carrots, and mashed the green beans in with them. I sprinkled in some red chili pepper flakes for added heat while sauteing the onions, garlic and chilis. I had no fresh ginger, and forgot about the ginger paste I had on hand, so did without. Didn't miss it. I didn't have fresh cilantro, but sprinkled in about a Tbsp of dried cilantro. The peas were the only vegetables I left intact. The end result was very similar to what I had before and was excellent! I know this takes away the spirit of the "pav," but I like this served over wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Not like the ones you get on streets of India, so I asked my Indian friend and she had some suggestions: Substitute cabbage with green beans. Boil carrots, potatoes, cauliflower, peas and green beans beforehand. Saute onions and garlic in butter/vegan butter. Add tomatoes/puree and spice and stir for another minute or 2. Add spice (PB masala) ginger/chillies and freshly chopped cilantro (1 cup) and stir for another minute. Add all pre-cooked, lightly mashed veggies, salt, and lemon juice. Cook on lowest heat for about 10 minutes, check seasoning and add lemon juice, spice, and salt according to taste. Cook on lowest heat for 20 more minutes to allow the flavors to sink in. Viola! Tasted pretty close to what I had on the streets of India!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Perhaps this is a style of Indian food my husband and I are not used to. We make a lot of Indian dishes and were surprised to find this one extremely bland, with the overabundance of potatoes giving it a flat, starchy flavor that buried the spice. Also, the texture never turned into anything like the photo shows. We added more tomatoes, extra chiles, and finally tried chicken broth. But it was a disappointment, and we ended up grabbing a pizza instead. Too bad; we were excited to try it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This is a great recipe!! But I would add green peppers, saute them with the onions, same quantity as the onions, 1 cup. It adds more flavor to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I made the recipe as posted and it needs some serious tweaking for next time. First it is very bland for the amount of vegetables in the ingredients. More chilis more masala. I would also exclude the cabbage or fry it earlier because it takes longer to cook. There needs to be a mix of oil and ghee(Indian butter)/butter and a cup of water. The kahzana spice packets from the Indian store work best from my experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I skipped the cauliflower, carrots, and cabbage and added green pepper. I also substituted chili powder for the chopped chilis. I used any tomatoes I had around instead of the plum tomatoes. Hamburger buns worked well as the pav. This came out very well. I love the pav bhaji masala!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morganville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This recipe was pretty good, but it needed a little more flavor. I halved the recipe (there were only two of us) but used all the ginger and all the masala. I never ended up with the gravy that looked so appetizing in the photo so I added some tomato sauce and more spices, then some broth. all in all, I ended up with a bland stir-fry. I will probably try this again, but will seriously doctor the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquita632000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
being an indian,i know that using fresh bread will make it much.it is a good chaat item if you add cheddar cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dranzerhilary
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This was awesome. It's a little much for four servings; it was actually more like five or six.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States