Pav Bhaji Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Yummy recipe. I used garam masala instead of Pav Bhaji masala. Taste just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I skipped the cauliflower, carrots, and cabbage and added green pepper. I also substituted chili powder for the chopped chilis. I used any tomatoes I had around instead of the plum tomatoes. Hamburger buns worked well as the pav. This came out very well. I love the pav bhaji masala!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morganville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
My family loved this recipe. Our suggestion is that next time we will try warmed wheat pita bread instead of dinner rolls. This dish is great topped with additional fresh chopped roma tomatoes. The prep time was stated as 20 minutes, however, the chopping of veggies took longer than that. Perhaps the recipe author used a food processor? We found the amount of food to serve more than 4, perhaps 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
iits a very delicious recipe.even though a bit hard to make the end result satisfied me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Living In: Al Karama, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I give this recipe 5 stars because while I didn't like it, I think it's because I am not use to eating Indian food. It was much too spicy for me. I made this along with the Roomali Roti bread that's on this site. I had my oldest daughter take the leftovers (there was alot) to the Indian store where I had purchased the spices. They ate it for lunch and said I had made it better than some Indian women could and that it was delicious. So the recipe must be worth 5 stars and tasty to those with the right tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I've eaten a lot of really great Indian food over the years, but this was a welcomed surprise. I didn't have the energy to seek out the spice mix it called for, so I simply mixed together more or less equal parts caraway seeds, coriander seed and star anise, ground them up and toasted them on the stovetop in a cast iron skillet. I also through in about 1/2 tsp of curry powder and another 1/2 of turmeric. Oh, and I added about a tablespoon of tomato paste. Instead of dinner rolls, I served it with paratha, which I can get frozen at the local intl market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
yum yum yum I made this one day ahead of my indian feast to let the flavours marry but you really don't need to!! I did not serve this with buns but made puri instead. A hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This was awesome. It's a little much for four servings; it was actually more like five or six.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
being an indian,i know that using fresh bread will make it much.it is a good chaat item if you add cheddar cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dranzerhilary
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I had to improvise on this recipe based on items on hand, but also did much of what reviewer omen63 suggested because it sounded like more like the Pav Bhaji I've had before. What I ended up was simply scrumptious! Here were the mods I did by choice. I used one 10.5 oz can of tomato puree instead of whole tomatoes, and a can of green beans instead of cabbage, Based on spices on hand, I used garam masala instead of pav bhaji masala. I boiled and mashed the potatoes, cauliflower, and carrots, and mashed the green beans in with them. I sprinkled in some red chili pepper flakes for added heat while sauteing the onions, garlic and chilis. I had no fresh ginger, and forgot about the ginger paste I had on hand, so did without. Didn't miss it. I didn't have fresh cilantro, but sprinkled in about a Tbsp of dried cilantro. The peas were the only vegetables I left intact. The end result was very similar to what I had before and was excellent! I know this takes away the spirit of the "pav," but I like this served over wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States