Paul's Southern California BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
At first I was disappointed at the very strong vinegar flavor, however, I added worcestershire, liquid smoke and garlic, marinated a chuck roast overnight and then cooked it in a crockpot for 10 hours. It made one heck of a shredded beef sandwich on a Brown and Serve roll. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Sweet with a kick! I cut the chili powder and cayenne to 1/2 teaspoon because I was concerned it would be to spicy for the kids. I cut back on the sugar slightly but after tasting added the full amount. My sauce thickened up a lot sooner than 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This was really great! I followed the recipe exactly and served it on steak. Next time I will try chicken or something different, but it definitely compliments steak perfectly. It was a little bit spicier than I'd imagined it would be. That was good for me because I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soapscrubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I prepared this 3 days ago. I wasn't sure about it at first. It has a sweetness to it but then the heat creeps up the pallet. However...I said the rest in a sealed glass container in the fridge and after a few days the ingredients have mellowed. The sauce is thicker, tangier, and the heat is mellowed too. To me, it rivals most store bought sauces. Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipeDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Just enough sweet with a little zip. Excellent for pulled pork bbq sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Very good sauce, except a little strong vinegar and to spicy for some people. I cut the vinegar to 1 1/2 cups and added 1/4 cup water. Cut the Chili Powder and Cayenne to 1/2 tsp Ea. Over all it is a very good sauce. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This BBQ sauce is excellent. I followed the recipe exactly except for omitting the cayenne pepper. In its place, I added about a tablespoon of chipotle in adobo because I wanted a bit of smoky-spice. It's the perfect blend of spicy, sweet, smoky, and tangy. I reduced it for about 45 minutes and it's the perfect consistency. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This was very good. Used it for pulled pork and BBQ spare ribs....I couldn't get it to thicken up as much as I wanted it so it didn't get five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This sounded really good, so I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of chili powder & cayenne pepper. (Many family members with tummy issues!). The first & most overwhelming "problem" was the strong vinegar smell & taste. It was too acidic. So to cut through the acidity, I added about a cup or slightly more of brown sugar. It was still too sour from the vinegar, so I added about 1/4 cup honey. I also added about 2 Tblsp. Heinz chili sauce, about 2 Tblsp. Liquid Smoke, & 1 Tblsp. Wocestershire sauce. I simmered it for about 15 minutes, but it wasn't thickening very well. So I added a Tsp. of corn starch in about 2 Tblsp. cool water, then added it to the sauce. That's what it took to achieve a final product I was happy with, that wasn't too sour from vinegar, & my family was thrilled with! I used shredded roast beef right into the pan & let it caramelize a bit, then placed it in buns for BBQ sandwiches! Everyone raved about the final product! Thanks for the recipe, even though I modified it, it was a great outline for me to start with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This was a good sauce but I spiced it up a bit more by adding some hickory smoke BBQ flavor and just a 1/4 tsp of wasabi horseradish. Perfect tang and bite. Will make again. Thanks to Paul for a superb base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States