Paul's Southern California BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
At first I was disappointed at the very strong vinegar flavor, however, I added worcestershire, liquid smoke and garlic, marinated a chuck roast overnight and then cooked it in a crockpot for 10 hours. It made one heck of a shredded beef sandwich on a Brown and Serve roll. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Sweet with a kick! I cut the chili powder and cayenne to 1/2 teaspoon because I was concerned it would be to spicy for the kids. I cut back on the sugar slightly but after tasting added the full amount. My sauce thickened up a lot sooner than 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This was really great! I followed the recipe exactly and served it on steak. Next time I will try chicken or something different, but it definitely compliments steak perfectly. It was a little bit spicier than I'd imagined it would be. That was good for me because I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soapscrubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I prepared this 3 days ago. I wasn't sure about it at first. It has a sweetness to it but then the heat creeps up the pallet. However...I said the rest in a sealed glass container in the fridge and after a few days the ingredients have mellowed. The sauce is thicker, tangier, and the heat is mellowed too. To me, it rivals most store bought sauces. Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipeDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Very good sauce, except a little strong vinegar and to spicy for some people. I cut the vinegar to 1 1/2 cups and added 1/4 cup water. Cut the Chili Powder and Cayenne to 1/2 tsp Ea. Over all it is a very good sauce. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Just enough sweet with a little zip. Excellent for pulled pork bbq sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This BBQ sauce is excellent. I followed the recipe exactly except for omitting the cayenne pepper. In its place, I added about a tablespoon of chipotle in adobo because I wanted a bit of smoky-spice. It's the perfect blend of spicy, sweet, smoky, and tangy. I reduced it for about 45 minutes and it's the perfect consistency. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This was very good. Used it for pulled pork and BBQ spare ribs....I couldn't get it to thicken up as much as I wanted it so it didn't get five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This sounded really good, so I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of chili powder & cayenne pepper. (Many family members with tummy issues!). The first & most overwhelming "problem" was the strong vinegar smell & taste. It was too acidic. So to cut through the acidity, I added about a cup or slightly more of brown sugar. It was still too sour from the vinegar, so I added about 1/4 cup honey. I also added about 2 Tblsp. Heinz chili sauce, about 2 Tblsp. Liquid Smoke, & 1 Tblsp. Wocestershire sauce. I simmered it for about 15 minutes, but it wasn't thickening very well. So I added a Tsp. of corn starch in about 2 Tblsp. cool water, then added it to the sauce. That's what it took to achieve a final product I was happy with, that wasn't too sour from vinegar, & my family was thrilled with! I used shredded roast beef right into the pan & let it caramelize a bit, then placed it in buns for BBQ sandwiches! Everyone raved about the final product! Thanks for the recipe, even though I modified it, it was a great outline for me to start with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This was a good sauce but I spiced it up a bit more by adding some hickory smoke BBQ flavor and just a 1/4 tsp of wasabi horseradish. Perfect tang and bite. Will make again. Thanks to Paul for a superb base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States