Paul's Southern California BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
MY FAMILY LOVES LOVES LOVES THIS SAUCE!!!! I ACTUALLY QUAD THIS RECIPE AND THEN HOME PRESERVE IT FOR FUTURE USE OR GIFTS. IT IS AMAZING ON PORK OR A CHEAPER CUT OF BEEF....USE IT AS A MARINADE.......YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY!!!!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I made this the other day and am still trying to determine what I might have done wrong; it's much too sweet and much too vinegary for us! I used Splenda, which is measured the same way sugar is, and cider vinegar, as called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
My all time favorite bbq sauce recipe. Easy to make and super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This sounded really good, so I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of chili powder & cayenne pepper. (Many family members with tummy issues!). The first & most overwhelming "problem" was the strong vinegar smell & taste. It was too acidic. So to cut through the acidity, I added about a cup or slightly more of brown sugar. It was still too sour from the vinegar, so I added about 1/4 cup honey. I also added about 2 Tblsp. Heinz chili sauce, about 2 Tblsp. Liquid Smoke, & 1 Tblsp. Wocestershire sauce. I simmered it for about 15 minutes, but it wasn't thickening very well. So I added a Tsp. of corn starch in about 2 Tblsp. cool water, then added it to the sauce. That's what it took to achieve a final product I was happy with, that wasn't too sour from vinegar, & my family was thrilled with! I used shredded roast beef right into the pan & let it caramelize a bit, then placed it in buns for BBQ sandwiches! Everyone raved about the final product! Thanks for the recipe, even though I modified it, it was a great outline for me to start with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Wolfe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This BBQ sauce is excellent. I followed the recipe exactly except for omitting the cayenne pepper. In its place, I added about a tablespoon of chipotle in adobo because I wanted a bit of smoky-spice. It's the perfect blend of spicy, sweet, smoky, and tangy. I reduced it for about 45 minutes and it's the perfect consistency. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This was certainly tasty, but after it cooked down, I was left with less than a cup of sauce, which is certainly not 12 servings. So some of us got to enjoy this sauce, and the rest of our guests were stuck with bottled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIBYLL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This was a good sauce but I spiced it up a bit more by adding some hickory smoke BBQ flavor and just a 1/4 tsp of wasabi horseradish. Perfect tang and bite. Will make again. Thanks to Paul for a superb base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Very good sauce, except a little strong vinegar and to spicy for some people. I cut the vinegar to 1 1/2 cups and added 1/4 cup water. Cut the Chili Powder and Cayenne to 1/2 tsp Ea. Over all it is a very good sauce. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I didn't want to give this even one star, because for us it was inedible. I don't know if there's a wrong kind apple cider vinegar, I just used our store brand, but my daughter and I tried this recipe and it burned our nose and throat. There seemed to be way too much vinegar and it didn't taste good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I prepared this 3 days ago. I wasn't sure about it at first. It has a sweetness to it but then the heat creeps up the pallet. However...I said the rest in a sealed glass container in the fridge and after a few days the ingredients have mellowed. The sauce is thicker, tangier, and the heat is mellowed too. To me, it rivals most store bought sauces. Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipeDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States