Paul's Pumpkin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
These are to die for made them for Thanksgiving and they were so good they didn't even make it to dinner time. One try and the whole family descended on them til nothing was left. Will be making these from now on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I can't tell you how amazing these turned out! I made these for a post-Thanksgiving dinner with my roommates and everyone absolutely loved them, including me. They're perfect; not too rich and not too sweet. The contrast of the tangy cream cheese frosting with sweet pumpkin flavor is a perfect balance. I followed the recipe exactly and I suggest everyone do the same. I guess you could change it up if you want a less cakey texture, but I liked it the way it is because it's light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Good recipe. I added a bit of ginger, and a hint of nutmeg as well as the cinnamon. Used 4 eggs, and got a great flat cake that was suitable for "stacking." I used a jellyroll pan as written, but greased it before pouring the batter in. After baking, I turned the cake out. When it was cooled, I cut it in thirds and made a three-level layer cake that my guests loved. It was beautiful, first of all, and they gobbled it up, so it proved to be delicious. Nothing was left. The icing: I used 8 oz of cream cheese, so it had that tangy "cream cheese" flavor to it. Otherwise did the icing as listed. Also had to double the recipe for the stacking. You want a nice amount of icing when doing that for the visual effect. Wish I had taken a picture. I only iced the tops of the pieces, so we could easily see the layers of pumpkin bar with the creamy icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
To be honest, I didn't make this as written. I wanted to cut back on the oil, and had planned on using applesauce, but I didn't have any on hand. I had heard that you could replace flax seed meal for part of the oil, so I tried that. I used 3/4 cup oil and 3/4 cup flax seed meal for my oil. I also used 1 cup brown sugar and 2/3 cup white. For the spices, I added 1/4 tsp each ground Ginger, Cloves and Nutmeg in addition to the cinnamon. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla. I baked it in a jelly roll pan. For the cream cheese icing I used 8 oz. cream cheese and approximately 4 cups powdered sugar. I'm very pleased with the results. I may add more of the 3 extra spices, and I'm wondering what some mashed banana would taste like in it. Maybe a little bit of orange zest as well. Hmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Followed recipe EXACTLY... and its delicious! Mine turned out thick, like a cake, so I just frosted the whole thing. Moist indeed... and divine in taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jesses_girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I've made this twice now, first with half cup of oil, very moist, second time 1/4 cup oil and still very moist. Love the frosting!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
These were too "cakey" for me too, so I also cut the eggs down to three and used 30 ounces of pumpkin. I also used a maple cream cheese frosting for these, by using 4oz of cream cheese, 1/2 a cup of butter, 2 teaspoons of vanilla, three cups of confectioners sugar, and a tablespoon of maple syrup. It was just enough to make it a breakfast bar, but just sweet enough to snack on throughout the day! So good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachychick011

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I tried this because I had extra pumpkin and frosting from previous recipe. Brought most of them to work. Got rave reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Everyone LOVES this cake! Instead of making it in a 9x13 pan I do 2 round pans and make a layer cake. It is so moist & flavorful! I get many requests for this cake and it never fails to please. I changed only two things about the recipe. I threw in a tsp. of pumpkin pie spices along with the cinnamon and I also added a few tbsps of milk to the icing. Other than that it's awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I just made these and even with taking an egg out and using half the baking powder they are still a lot like cake. With that being said, the taste is wonderful and they smell great. I added a pinch of pumpkin pie spice and a drop of maple extract to the frosting. I would only warn that if you are looking for a bar this is not your recipe as this is more cake like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by One Hot Dish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 852) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States