Paul's Pumpkin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Very delicious, rich and moist. Perfect taste of autumn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Very good, nice and moist. I made half the recipe and used a cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I didn't love these, but they were OK. I took the advice of others and used only 3 eggs. I also cut the sugar down to 1 cup and the oil to 3/4 cup. And I only used 1 tsp baking power and 1/2 tsp baking soda plus 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice. All that was fine and the bars/cake tasted OK, but I didn't care for the frosting. It was salty, which can be fixed by using unsalted butter. But something was just off in the overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I wanted to use fresh pumpkin, not canned, and they were wonderful. I decreased the eggs to 3 and added 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice to the batter. (In addition to the 2 tsp. cinnamon recommended - pumpkin pie spice just seems to add more depth of flavors). 1 1/2 cups of pumpkin worked very well. To half the fat I only used 1/2 cup oil (light olive) and 1/2 cup applesauce. I've made these three times this week with this frosting: Rich Cream Cheese Frosting (with less Butter): 1/4 cup butter, 8 oz. cream cheese, 2 tsp. vanilla, 2 cups powdered sugar, dash of milk if needed. (I only needed half this frosting for our lightly frosted pan of bars). Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I also added more pumpkin, cut down on the oil and sugar and these bars are very moist and flavorful! I also added about 1 cup of cinnamon chips to the batter as well as pumpkin spice seasoning. I didn't have 8 oz. of cream cheese so I added about 2oz. of pumpkin cream cheese and the frosting was delicious. great time of year for these bars! Thank you Deb for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I made this cake for a last minute recipe for a Halloween party tommorrow. It has a lot of pros but one very important con to it. I thought the cake tasted so strongly of vegetable "oil." I liked that it all fits in a large jelly roll pan, it rises up nicely, it does not stick, and it makes a descent looking cake. The frosting, even being short about 1 of cream cheese, turned out very well. I will taste it tommorrow with the icing and change my review based on that. As is, just hope the cake will taste differently after it sits. I would hate to have to figure out something different to have to bring tommorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
My kids, and their friends, all love this - and I have very picky kids. Super yummy and perfect to pack in lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I made these according to the directions except for adding in some nutmeg and clove for extra seasoning. These were sooooo good, I didn't even need to add the icing! Everyone loved them and they were so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lunastar1311

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
these were great! I made changes as suggested by others to make it less cakey! VERY GOOD. also added a bit more spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
More like cake but good. Added one tsp of pumpkin pie spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 894) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States