Paul's Pumpkin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Yummy, but I think they should be made in a 10X15 jelly roll pan. Otherwise it is like a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Very cake like, but everyone raved about it. When adding oil & eggs together the consistency is very wet/runny, so try to achieve "light & fluffy" after adding in the flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandieqh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
OMG they are soooooooooooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
After trying this myself and getting something that tasted great, but rose too much like cake I followed the advice of others and edited the ingredients as follows: I added 4 cups of pumpkin puree, only used 3 eggs, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp baking powder, 2/3 c white sugar, 2/3 c brown sugar. I also added 1 tsp allspice, 1 tsp cloves, and 1 tsp nutmeg in addition to the cinnamon. I baked in a 10x16 cake pan that was greased and powdered to prevent sticking. I had to bake it for 45-50 minutes. In the middle of baking it seemed to rise a bit, but ended up flattening back down by the time it was cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Just what I was looking for. Only change I made was adding 1 Tsp of Pumpkin Pie spice, and sprinkled some crushed Pecans on top. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Berggren Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Very delicious, rich and moist. Perfect taste of autumn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Very good, nice and moist. I made half the recipe and used a cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I didn't love these, but they were OK. I took the advice of others and used only 3 eggs. I also cut the sugar down to 1 cup and the oil to 3/4 cup. And I only used 1 tsp baking power and 1/2 tsp baking soda plus 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice. All that was fine and the bars/cake tasted OK, but I didn't care for the frosting. It was salty, which can be fixed by using unsalted butter. But something was just off in the overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I wanted to use fresh pumpkin, not canned, and they were wonderful. I decreased the eggs to 3 and added 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice to the batter. (In addition to the 2 tsp. cinnamon recommended - pumpkin pie spice just seems to add more depth of flavors). 1 1/2 cups of pumpkin worked very well. To half the fat I only used 1/2 cup oil (light olive) and 1/2 cup applesauce. I've made these three times this week with this frosting: Rich Cream Cheese Frosting (with less Butter): 1/4 cup butter, 8 oz. cream cheese, 2 tsp. vanilla, 2 cups powdered sugar, dash of milk if needed. (I only needed half this frosting for our lightly frosted pan of bars). Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I also added more pumpkin, cut down on the oil and sugar and these bars are very moist and flavorful! I also added about 1 cup of cinnamon chips to the batter as well as pumpkin spice seasoning. I didn't have 8 oz. of cream cheese so I added about 2oz. of pumpkin cream cheese and the frosting was delicious. great time of year for these bars! Thank you Deb for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 879) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States