Paul's Pumpkin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Per other reviews I only used 3 eggs, and substituted half the oil for applesauce. These were definitely more cake like than brownie or other consistency. I used a 9x13 dish because it was what I had, so they were thicker like cake. The frosting is fantastic and worked well with the bars. Very popular at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Very good recipe. However, next time around I'm going to add the 1tsp of pumpkin spice as the video mentioned. I think it will deepen the flavor a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: La Jolla, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Yummy, but I think they should be made in a 10X15 jelly roll pan. Otherwise it is like a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Very cake like, but everyone raved about it. When adding oil & eggs together the consistency is very wet/runny, so try to achieve "light & fluffy" after adding in the flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandieqh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
OMG they are soooooooooooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
After trying this myself and getting something that tasted great, but rose too much like cake I followed the advice of others and edited the ingredients as follows: I added 4 cups of pumpkin puree, only used 3 eggs, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp baking powder, 2/3 c white sugar, 2/3 c brown sugar. I also added 1 tsp allspice, 1 tsp cloves, and 1 tsp nutmeg in addition to the cinnamon. I baked in a 10x16 cake pan that was greased and powdered to prevent sticking. I had to bake it for 45-50 minutes. In the middle of baking it seemed to rise a bit, but ended up flattening back down by the time it was cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Just what I was looking for. Only change I made was adding 1 Tsp of Pumpkin Pie spice, and sprinkled some crushed Pecans on top. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Very delicious, rich and moist. Perfect taste of autumn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Very good, nice and moist. I made half the recipe and used a cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I didn't love these, but they were OK. I took the advice of others and used only 3 eggs. I also cut the sugar down to 1 cup and the oil to 3/4 cup. And I only used 1 tsp baking power and 1/2 tsp baking soda plus 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice. All that was fine and the bars/cake tasted OK, but I didn't care for the frosting. It was salty, which can be fixed by using unsalted butter. But something was just off in the overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 851) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States