Paul's Pumpkin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I absolutely loved these pumpkin bars! I was so sad because I couldn't find the receipt my mom had given me and I was so upset because it was one of her staples and since she is passed on I couldn't get it anywhere. So when I came across this recipe, I couldn't believe how much it reminded of my mom's recipe! I just loved it! I did, however, add a little bit of nutmeg, but that's all I did. I may make them again for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This pumpkin cake was rather bland and I couldn't really taste the pumpkin. I would not recommend. However, I will definitely keep the icing recipe. The icing was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This is a very adjustable recipe. We have to eat gluten free and this worked well. I made half the amount stated and reduced the sugar by a quarter cup, instead of oil I used one cup (the plastic cup they are sold in) of applesauce and just a little oil, instead of flour I used one cup of gluten free bisquick. I baked it in a large glass pan (about 9*13) and after 40 min of 375 I increased to 400 and kept my eye on it. It turned out very moist and I was told not to bother freezing the left overs. Whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
These are good, taste just like pumpkin cake, double the frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Wilton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Perfect for a Fall dessert or snack. RAVE reviews by all eaters. I made mine in a 16x11 jelly roll pan. Yes they are a little more like a cake than a brownie/bar texture, but are really great with coffee. The icing is also easy and very delicious. I have made these 3x in recent weeks. I think I will try adding coconut, crushed pine apple, and walnuts next time around to see if I can duplicate a Hummingbird cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I like pumpkin but, I think there is too much frosting for this recipe. Maybe if the recipe was cut in half it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Everyone wants to know who Paul is...I'll tell you that he is the master of pumpkin bars! Wonderful recipe, these are always a huge hit, not too sweet, just perfect. Made the recipe as is and I had no problems whatsoever. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Very yummy but not enough frosting. I need to make more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Like other reviewers, I only used 3 eggs, but I wish I had cut down on the baking powder and soda as well, and I also wish I had used the pumpkin pie spice rather than just cinnamon in the batter. I used a jelly roll pan, like the recipe said, but it seemed even too much batter for that, so I used an 8x8 in addition to the jelly roll. I tried making these low-gluten, so they rose a little funky, because I used half of the flour and the other half rice flour, but they tasted fine. The grittiness of the rice flour is the only thing that kept this from being great. The only reason I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 is because of the amount it made and not fitting into the jelly roll. I do think it would have been like a cake had I tried to put all the batter in one pan. I also would double the frosting next time I make these. But it's a really easy and nice fall recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Loved these. Reminds me of carrot cake with the cream cheese frosting. I didn't have a full cup of oil so only used 3/4 cup and I also have high blood pressure so I only used 1/4 tsp salt and they were still moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 852) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States