Paul's Pumpkin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
OMG they are soooooooooooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
After trying this myself and getting something that tasted great, but rose too much like cake I followed the advice of others and edited the ingredients as follows: I added 4 cups of pumpkin puree, only used 3 eggs, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp baking powder, 2/3 c white sugar, 2/3 c brown sugar. I also added 1 tsp allspice, 1 tsp cloves, and 1 tsp nutmeg in addition to the cinnamon. I baked in a 10x16 cake pan that was greased and powdered to prevent sticking. I had to bake it for 45-50 minutes. In the middle of baking it seemed to rise a bit, but ended up flattening back down by the time it was cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Just what I was looking for. Only change I made was adding 1 Tsp of Pumpkin Pie spice, and sprinkled some crushed Pecans on top. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Very delicious, rich and moist. Perfect taste of autumn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Very good, nice and moist. I made half the recipe and used a cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I didn't love these, but they were OK. I took the advice of others and used only 3 eggs. I also cut the sugar down to 1 cup and the oil to 3/4 cup. And I only used 1 tsp baking power and 1/2 tsp baking soda plus 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice. All that was fine and the bars/cake tasted OK, but I didn't care for the frosting. It was salty, which can be fixed by using unsalted butter. But something was just off in the overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I wanted to use fresh pumpkin, not canned, and they were wonderful. I decreased the eggs to 3 and added 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice to the batter. (In addition to the 2 tsp. cinnamon recommended - pumpkin pie spice just seems to add more depth of flavors). 1 1/2 cups of pumpkin worked very well. To half the fat I only used 1/2 cup oil (light olive) and 1/2 cup applesauce. I've made these three times this week with this frosting: Rich Cream Cheese Frosting (with less Butter): 1/4 cup butter, 8 oz. cream cheese, 2 tsp. vanilla, 2 cups powdered sugar, dash of milk if needed. (I only needed half this frosting for our lightly frosted pan of bars). Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I also added more pumpkin, cut down on the oil and sugar and these bars are very moist and flavorful! I also added about 1 cup of cinnamon chips to the batter as well as pumpkin spice seasoning. I didn't have 8 oz. of cream cheese so I added about 2oz. of pumpkin cream cheese and the frosting was delicious. great time of year for these bars! Thank you Deb for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I made this cake for a last minute recipe for a Halloween party tommorrow. It has a lot of pros but one very important con to it. I thought the cake tasted so strongly of vegetable "oil." I liked that it all fits in a large jelly roll pan, it rises up nicely, it does not stick, and it makes a descent looking cake. The frosting, even being short about 1 of cream cheese, turned out very well. I will taste it tommorrow with the icing and change my review based on that. As is, just hope the cake will taste differently after it sits. I would hate to have to figure out something different to have to bring tommorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
My kids, and their friends, all love this - and I have very picky kids. Super yummy and perfect to pack in lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 907) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States