Paul's Pumpkin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
These are a bit "cakey" for me - here is how I modified them to be PERFECT - and people at work obsess over them! I put in only 3 eggs, then instead of 15 oz of pumpkin, I put in a 30 oz can of pumpkin pie mix (I use Libby's). I then add an additional teaspoon of pumpkin pie seasoning to the flour mix, in addition to the cinnamon. I've got my baking time down to 27 minutes in my oven, which is just the point where the toothpick comes out clean for the first time. Then for the frosting, I add 8oz cream cheese, and double the rest of the frosting ingredients. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
879 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Ready for a wow-factor twist on this? I used previous suggestions to make this more of a bar-cookie consistency and added a bag of semi-sweet chocolate morsels at the last minute before popping into the oven. Simply awesome. I can see white chocolate chips, butterscotch, etc... let the sky be the limit. OH, AND, I cut sugar down to 3/4 cup and oil down to 2/3 cup and we didn't miss it a bit... why add calories/fat when you don't really need it? ENJOY THIS EASY AND YUMMY FALL RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
326 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
After reading the other reviews, I decided to try for a more bar-like result for today's picnic. I cut out one egg and ½'ed the baking powder and baking soda. I also added ½ tsp. of cloves and ½ tsp. of nutmeg. I thought they turned out great!! VERY moist, and exactly like I wanted. For the frosting, I used 8 oz of cream cheese and 3 cups of powdered sugar, which made about ½ cup more than I needed. A GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I have made these atleast 5 times now and I can't get enough of them! I don't have a jelly roll pan so i divide the batter between a 9x13 and an 8x8 pan to get the right thickness and they are always perfect. although, i have forgotten to do that before and poured it all in a 9X13 and it just has to bake longer and is more cake-like. this is easy and so yummy!! make sure you try this one -- this is the one sure-thing i always want to bring to parties because everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
HEAVENLY!! These yummy bars make a great end to any meal. I always seem to make changes to recipes, here is what I did different. Added 1/2 brown, 1/2 white sugar. 1/2 applesauce, 1/2 oil. Added about 1 1/2 teaspoon more of cinnamon, also added a little cloves, ginger, and allspice. The frosting was the BEST, I did 6 oz of cream cheese instead of just 3 oz. The extra spice really makes this recipe! Update, added full can of large pumpkin, one less egg, plus 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice. They were gone instantly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
After reading some of the reviews, I used a 9x13 glass dish, and I changed the recipe by decreasing the eggs to 3, and I used a little less of the b.powder and b.soda to get a more dense (and very moist) result. 29 oz can of pumpkin with 2 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp ginger, and 1/2 tsp ground cloves gave it more flavor. I only had whipped brown sugar/cinnamon flavored cream cheese to work with so I used that with a small amount of milk, butter and powdered sugar for the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
Thie recipe was great! I used unsweetened Applesauce in place of the oil, and egg beaters in place of the eggs. I also added 1/4t nutmeg and 1/4 t ginger- it really was wonderful- moist and flavorful! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
Soooo yummy! Next time I think I will make a little extra frosting. I used a sugar pumpkin, cooked it and pureed it. 1 3/4 c. cooked pumpkin = 15oz. can. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I made these for a dinner party at my friend's place, and she only had a 9 X 13" pan. I baked it for an additional 5 minutes and it came out very moist and delicious, a lot more like a cake than a bar. I added more cream cheese and less butter for the frosting, which my friends loved. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was so good! Everyone at our family gathering loved them. I made the following changes, per the suggestion of other reviewers because I wanted more of a brownie texture: 3 eggs, 1 1/2 cups sugar, 29 oz. can pumpkin, half the baking powder and soda, and 2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice (instead of cinnamon) The texture was very similar to a brownie and they were moist. I'll be making this over and over again from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 854) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States