Paul's Pumpkin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Like other reviewers, I only used 3 eggs, but I wish I had cut down on the baking powder and soda as well, and I also wish I had used the pumpkin pie spice rather than just cinnamon in the batter. I used a jelly roll pan, like the recipe said, but it seemed even too much batter for that, so I used an 8x8 in addition to the jelly roll. I tried making these low-gluten, so they rose a little funky, because I used half of the flour and the other half rice flour, but they tasted fine. The grittiness of the rice flour is the only thing that kept this from being great. The only reason I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 is because of the amount it made and not fitting into the jelly roll. I do think it would have been like a cake had I tried to put all the batter in one pan. I also would double the frosting next time I make these. But it's a really easy and nice fall recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Loved these. Reminds me of carrot cake with the cream cheese frosting. I didn't have a full cup of oil so only used 3/4 cup and I also have high blood pressure so I only used 1/4 tsp salt and they were still moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Super yummy. Cake is fluffy and moist. This will be a regular recipe for fall, a couple times a year at least. I like the jelly roll pan size, making a good thickness for snacking... The only adjustments I made to this recipe were to the spices and frosting. I didn't add a full teaspoon of salt, but next time I will, as I think it would have rounded out the spice flavors. In addition to the cinnamon in the ingredient list, I added: 1 tsp cardamon, 1/4 tsp ginger. For the frosting I wanted more cream cheese than butter, so I used 4 oz cream cheese, 1/4 c butter. Try this recipe! You won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Per other reviews I only used 3 eggs, and substituted half the oil for applesauce. These were definitely more cake like than brownie or other consistency. I used a 9x13 dish because it was what I had, so they were thicker like cake. The frosting is fantastic and worked well with the bars. Very popular at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Very good recipe. However, next time around I'm going to add the 1tsp of pumpkin spice as the video mentioned. I think it will deepen the flavor a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Yummy, but I think they should be made in a 10X15 jelly roll pan. Otherwise it is like a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Very cake like, but everyone raved about it. When adding oil & eggs together the consistency is very wet/runny, so try to achieve "light & fluffy" after adding in the flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandieqh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
OMG they are soooooooooooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
After trying this myself and getting something that tasted great, but rose too much like cake I followed the advice of others and edited the ingredients as follows: I added 4 cups of pumpkin puree, only used 3 eggs, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp baking powder, 2/3 c white sugar, 2/3 c brown sugar. I also added 1 tsp allspice, 1 tsp cloves, and 1 tsp nutmeg in addition to the cinnamon. I baked in a 10x16 cake pan that was greased and powdered to prevent sticking. I had to bake it for 45-50 minutes. In the middle of baking it seemed to rise a bit, but ended up flattening back down by the time it was cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Just what I was looking for. Only change I made was adding 1 Tsp of Pumpkin Pie spice, and sprinkled some crushed Pecans on top. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Berggren Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 894) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States